Affordable Online MHA and Healthcare Administration Master's Programs
Published prices are not directly comparable — one university charges per credit, another per term, a third publishes a whole-program price, and residents and nonresidents often pay different rates. Below, 51 of the 64 verified online MHA and healthcare administration master's programs in our directory are compared on one consistent basis. This is not a claim about the cheapest program nationwide: it is the lowest estimated tuition among the programs we have verified.
How the estimate is calculated
Estimated total tuition = published per-credit tuition × required credits
- When the university publishes a whole-program tuition figure, that figure is used as published.
- Student residency category: the rate for all students (or the online rate), or — when rates differ by residency — the nonresident (out-of-state) rate, the rate an applicant from another state pays. A resident-only rate is never used.
- Required credits: the credits the program publishes. Where a range is published (for example when an internship can be waived), the figure recorded on the program page is used and the range is noted there.
- Academic year: each rate's year is shown (2025-2026, 2026-2027, 2027-2028, Fall 2026 - Summer 2, Fall 2026/Spring 202, not stated). Rates usually rise each year, so a multi-year program costs more than this estimate.
- Included fees: none, unless the university's published rate already includes them (noted on the program page).
- Excluded costs: mandatory and technology fees, application fees, books, travel and lodging for required campus residencies or immersions, transfer-credit reductions and future rate changes.
Residency travel and campus visits
16 of the compared programs publish required campus residencies, immersions or orientations. Travel and lodging for these are not in the estimate; where a residency fee is published it appears on the program page under other fees.
Total vs annual tuition
Annual (per academic year) tuition is what one year costs a full-time student; total tuition is what the whole degree costs. A one-year program with high annual tuition can cost less in total than a two-year program with lower annual tuition — compare totals, never an annual figure with a total.
Online MHA and healthcare administration master's by estimated total tuition
| School and program | Format | Published rate used | Credits | Estimated total tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of PhoenixMaster of Health Administration (Competency-Based) | Fully online | $10,800 entire programAll students — MHA-CB estimated program cost · year not stated | 36 | $10,800published total |
| Wichita State UniversityMaster of Health Administration | Fully online | $350.73 per creditOnline students — Basic Fees: Graduate Tuition, Resident (online majors are charged the resident rate per footnote 1) · 2025-2026 | 43 | $15,081.39rate × credits |
| Appalachian State UniversityMaster of Health Administration (MHA) – Online | Fully online | $344.21 per creditOnline students — App State Online graduate, NC Resident, total per credit hour (before MHA differential) · Fall 2026/Spring 202 | 46 | $15,833.66rate × credits |
| Texas State UniversityMaster of Long-Term Care Administration | Fully online | $16,566 entire programAll students · year not stated | 33 | $16,566published total |
| American Public University SystemOnline Master of Science in Healthcare Administration | Fully online | $470 per creditAll students · year not stated | 40 | $18,800rate × credits |
| Texas State UniversityExecutive Master of Healthcare Administration (Executive Concentration, online) | Fully online | $20,080 entire programAll students · year not stated | 40 | $20,080published total |
| Colorado State University GlobalOnline Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA) | Fully online | $675 per creditAll students · year not stated | 36 | $24,300rate × credits |
| Franklin UniversityMaster of Healthcare Administration (MHA) | Fully online | $690 per creditAll students · year not stated | 36 | $24,840rate × credits |
| University of PhoenixMaster of Health Administration | Fully online | $698 per creditAll students — Cost per credit · year not stated | 36 | $25,128rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityMaster of Science in Healthcare Administration Online | Fully online | $600 per creditAll students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027 | 42 | $25,200rate × credits |
| Purdue University GlobalOnline Master's Degree in Health Care Administration | Fully online | $485 per creditAll students · year not stated | 52 | $25,220rate × credits |
| Ohio UniversityOnline Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $25,992 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — non-resident, total estimated cost minus fees · year not stated | 36 | $25,992published total |
| Saint Joseph's College of MaineHealth Administration, MHA | Fully online | $26,334 entire programAll students — Total Cost (excludes textbooks and fees; assumes no transfer credit) · year not stated | — | $26,334published total |
| Capella UniversityMHA - Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $565 per creditAll students — GuidedPath · year not stated | 48 | $27,120rate × credits |
| Indiana University IndianapolisIU Online Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $652.33 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — MHA online, out-of-state residents, per credit hour (tuition only) · year not stated | 42 | $27,397.86rate × credits |
| University of Maryland Global CampusHealthcare Administration, Master of Science | Fully online | $659 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) · year not stated | 42 | $27,678rate × credits |
| Grand Canyon UniversityMaster of Science in Health Administration | Fully online | $610 per creditOnline students · year not stated | 48 | $29,280rate × credits |
| Walden UniversityMaster of Healthcare Administration (MHA) – course-based | Fully online | $29,995 entire programAll students — Total tuition and program fee, minimum time to completion, before scholarship · year not stated | 53 | $29,995published total |
| University of CincinnatiExecutive Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $769 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Non-Resident Total Cost, part-time per credit hour · year not stated | 40 | $30,760rate × credits |
| Xavier UniversityHealth Services Administration (Executive Program), MHSA | Fully online | $739 per creditAll students · 2026-2027 | 42 | $31,038rate × credits |
| Central Michigan UniversityOnline Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $862 per creditAll students — Graduate Master's/Specialist, U.S. resident tuition · 2026-2027 | 39 | $33,618rate × credits |
| Texas Woman's UniversityMaster of Healthcare Administration (MHA) | Online + campus visits | $751 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Non-Resident tuition per credit hour, effective Fall 2026 thru Summer 2027 · 2026-2027 | 45 | $33,795rate × credits |
| University of North FloridaExecutive Master of Health Administration (EMHA) – Online | Online + campus visits | $1,126.88 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Total Tuition and Fees for 1 Credit Hour (Non-Florida Resident) · Fall 2026 - Summer 2 | 30 | $33,806.40rate × credits |
| University of Central FloridaExecutive Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $772.69 per creditAll students — Estimated cost per credit hour, including university fees (flat rate for all students) · year not stated | 44 | $33,998.36rate × credits |
| Medical University of South CarolinaMaster in Health Administration - Online | Fully online | $705 per creditAll students — In-state and out-of-state tuition (same rate) · 2026-2027 | 49 | $34,545rate × credits |
| George Mason UniversityOnline Master of Health Administration (MHA) in Health Systems Management | Fully online | $895 per creditOnline students · year not stated | 39 | $34,905rate × credits |
| Weber State UniversityExecutive Master of Health Administration (Online) | Fully online | $35,000 entire programAll students · year not stated | — | $35,000published total |
| Florida International UniversityMaster of Health Services Administration (MHSA) — Online | Fully online | $36,000 entire programOnline students — Online MHSA, resident and non-resident tuition only · year not stated | 48 | $36,000published total |
| Grand Canyon UniversityMaster of Science in Health Administration with an Emphasis in Health Care Quality and Patient Safety | Fully online | $610 per creditOnline students · year not stated | 60 | $36,600rate × credits |
| University of LouisvilleMaster of Science in Health Administration, 100% Online | Fully online | $863 per creditOnline students — Academic Year Tuition · year not stated | 43 | $37,109rate × credits |
| University of PhoenixMaster of Health Administration - MBA Dual Degree | Fully online | $698 per creditAll students — Cost per credit · year not stated | 58 | $40,484rate × credits |
| Saint Louis UniversityHealth Administration, M.S. | Fully online | $42,000 entire programAll students — Tuition Total Program Cost · year not stated | 39 | $42,000published total |
| Saint Joseph's College of MaineDual Degree Options, MSN/MBA or MSN/MHA (MSN/MHA) | Fully online | $42,240 entire programAll students — Total Cost (excludes textbooks, online fee and nursing clinical fees) · year not stated | 60 | $42,240published total |
| Texas Woman's UniversityDual Degree: MHA and MBA | Online + campus visits | $751 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Non-Resident tuition per credit hour, effective Fall 2026 thru Summer 2027 · 2026-2027 | 57 | $42,807rate × credits |
| The Ohio State UniversityOnline Executive Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $1,070 per creditOnline students — Instructional Fee per credit hour, Executive Master of Health Administration – Distance Learning (per-credit fees capped at the cost of 8 credit hours) · 2026-2027 | 45 | $48,150rate × credits |
| Pennsylvania State UniversityMaster of Health Administration in Health Policy and Administration (Online, World Campus) | Online + campus visits | $1,048 per creditOnline students — 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027 | 49 | $51,352rate × credits |
| Idaho State UniversityMaster of Healthcare Administration | Fully online | $1,292 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate part time, total tuition and consolidated fee per credit (non-resident) · year not stated | 43 | $55,556rate × credits |
| University of Alabama at BirminghamExecutive Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA) | Online + campus visits | $59,600 entire programAll students — Total for the two-year program · year not stated | 57 | $59,600published total |
| University of North Carolina WilmingtonMaster of Healthcare Administration Online | Fully online | $63,865 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — MHA (out-of-state residents) – estimated total tuition & fees · 2026-2027 | 48 | $63,865published total |
| Seton Hall UniversityMaster of Healthcare Administration (MHA) - Online/Hybrid | Online + campus visits | $1,530 per creditAll students · 2025-2026 | 42 | $64,260rate × credits |
| Trinity UniversityHealth Care Administration (Executive) M.S. | Online + campus visits | $65,000 entire programAll students — Total Program Tuition (flat rate, includes all tuition and university fees) · year not stated | 43 | $65,000published total |
| Rush UniversityMaster of Science (MS) in Health Systems Management - Executive Track | Online + campus visits | $1,322 per creditAll students · year not stated | 52 | $68,744rate × credits |
| University of MinnesotaExecutive Master of Healthcare Administration | Online + campus visits | $1,715 per creditAll students — MHA Executive track, per credit (resident and non-resident) · 2026-2027 | 42 | $72,030rate × credits |
| Virginia Commonwealth UniversityMaster of Science in Health Administration (MSHA) | Online + campus visits | $76,000 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Estimated total non-resident/out-of-state tuition · year not stated | 41 | $76,000published total |
| George Washington UniversityMaster of Health Administration (MHA@GW) | Online + campus visits | $90,000 entire programAll students — Estimated total tuition (45 credits) · 2026-2027 | 45 | $90,000published total |
| University of Southern CaliforniaExecutive Master of Health Administration Online (EMHA) | Online + campus visits | $92,105 entire programAll students — Total Tuition Cost (36 units) · year not stated | 36 | $92,105published total |
| Georgetown UniversityMaster of Science in Health Systems Administration (MHSA) | Online + campus visits | $92,652 entire programAll students — Estimated total program cost, 2027–2028 academic year (before the 40% MHSA scholarship) · 2027-2028 | 42 | $92,652published total |
| Cornell UniversitySloan Executive Master of Health Administration (EMHA) | Online + campus visits | $93,316 entire programAll students — EMHA tuition for new students starting in Summer 2026 (flat rate, standard 18-month program) · 2026-2027 | 36.5 | $93,316published total |
| Tulane UniversityOnline Master of Health Administration | Fully online | $1,841 per creditAll students — Tuition (per credit hour) for all degree programs, including online, 2026-2027 · 2026-2027 | 54 | $99,414rate × credits |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel HillExecutive Master of Healthcare Administration | Online + campus visits | $2,140.56 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Health Policy and Management Distance Ed (mhahpmx), non-resident, per credit hour · 2026-2027 | 49 | $104,887.44rate × credits |
| New York UniversityOnline Master of Health Administration (MHA) | Online + campus visits | $116,595 entire programOnline students — Total Cost (subject to annual tuition and fee increases) · year not stated | 45 | $116,595published total |
Online programs without a comparable published cost (13)
- Appalachian State University — MBA (Interdisciplinary Business) & Health Administration (Leadership) dual degree (tuition not published)
- Georgetown University — Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway (tuition not published)
- Liberty University — Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.) (tuition not published)
- Loma Linda University — Master of Healthcare Administration (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Purdue University Global — Master's in Nursing (MSN) + Master of Health Care Administration (MHCA) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Alabama at Birmingham — Executive Health Administration and Master of Science in Healthcare Quality and Safety Coordinated Degree (tuition not published)
- University of Iowa — Executive MHA Track (tuition not published)
- University of Memphis — Master of Health Administration (Online Executive Track) (tuition not published)
- University of Scranton — Master of Health Administration (tuition published on another basis)
- Walden University — Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA) – Tempo Learning (tuition published on another basis)
- Western Governors University — Master of Healthcare Administration (tuition published on another basis)
- Wichita State University — Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration (tuition not published)
- Winston-Salem State University — Master of Healthcare Administration (tuition not published)
Questions about cost
What is the most affordable online MHA?
Do online students pay in-state tuition?
Are fees included?
Can my employer pay for an online MHA?
Related: Healthcare administration tuition and scholarships · Best online MHA programs · All online MHA programs