Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Ohio University logo

Ohio University · Department of Social and Public Health

Online Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree No campus visits

Overview

A 36-credit online Master of Health Administration of 12 courses (nine core courses and three specialization courses or electives), offered in a part-time two-year format with asynchronous courses. The program is a candidate for CAHME accreditation and has no residency or clinical/field hour requirement.

Official program name
Online Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Athens, OHWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Business Analytics · Project Management · Quality Improvement · Leadership
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
36 credits
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2-year, part-time format; as little as six consecutive Fall, Spring and Summer semestersA minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required campus visits (stated)No required campus visits (stated)
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Not required

    No residency required

    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Field experience Not required

    No clinical or field hours required

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Nine 3-credit core courses plus three specialization courses
    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Not a cohort model; courses may be taken in any order once prerequisites are met
    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in any field from an institutionally accredited school
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 minimum GPA
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Not requiredNo prerequisite coursework
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (2-4 pages)
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One letter of recommendation
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent professional resume or CV
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 application fee; waivers must be requested before applying
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedStudents residing outside the United States are generally not eligible to enroll in an OHIO Online program
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100When English is not a first language; 100 iBT with 26 on the writing section.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 8When English is not a first language; 8.0 minimum across all bands.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 7, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Ohio resident$700per creditEstimated tuition$25,200 = 36 credits × $700 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — non-resident$722per creditEstimated tuition$25,992 = 36 credits × $722 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Ohio resident, total estimated cost minus fees$25,200entire programSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — non-resident, total estimated cost minus fees$25,992entire programSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $25,992 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — non-resident, total estimated cost minus fees, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Additional fees, if applicable
$50
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Ohio University is approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in NC-SARA. Official pageSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

  • Generally, students that reside outside of the United States are not eligible to enroll in an OHIO Online program.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalogs.ohio.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=107&poid=37261&returnto=12086 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/graduate — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/graduate/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/graduate/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/graduate/faqs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/graduate/specializations — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/graduate/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. ohio.edu/provost/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Cincinnati

Master of Health Administration

Executive Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Part-time
Duration: Two program duration options (Fast-Track or Extended) · 40 credits
Tuition: $754 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident Total Cost, part-time per credit hour (instructional fee plus general, ITIE, program and distance learning fees) · year not statedEst. total tuition $30,760 (40 credits × $769 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 4, 2026 · Spring 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
Xavier University logo

Xavier University

Master of Health Services Administration

Health Services Administration (Executive Program), MHSA

Master'sMHSAExecutive CAHME accredited No campus visits
Location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.No required campus visits (stated) · Part-time
Duration: As little as two years; most students about three years; maximum six years (Minimum depends on course load; FAQ gives a six-year maximum while the program options page says up to 5 years.) · 42 credits
Tuition: $739 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $31,038 (42 credits × $739 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Franklin University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA
Location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 14 month completion (As printed; taking one class at a time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $690 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $24,840 (36 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Ohio University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.