Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Ohio University logo

Ohio University · Department of Social and Public Health

Health Services Administration Major (B.S.)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degreeFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

A Bachelor of Science with a major in health services administration, completed within the university's 120-semester-hour minimum, with a core that includes an internship in health services administration or a practicum in nursing home administration. Offered on the Athens campus and at Ohio University's regional campuses.

Official program name
Health Services Administration Major (B.S.)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Athens, OH
Required credits
Minimum of 120 semester hours for the bachelor's degree
Source: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The major is offered on the Athens campus and at the Chillicothe, Eastern, Lancaster, Southern and Zanesville regional campuses.

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. Freshman/first-year admission with no requirements beyond university admissionSource: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. External transfer admission with no requirements beyond university admissionSource: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Bachelor of Science with a major in health services administration.

Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    HLTH 4910 Internship in Health Services Administration (4 to 6 credit hours), or HLTH 4920 Practicum in Nursing Home Administration (6 credit hours)

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Core includes health care finance, health care policy, health care law and ethics, and leadership and management of health care organizations
    Source: catalogs.ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Ohio University is approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in NC-SARA. Official pageSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalogs.ohio.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=107&poid=37261&returnto=12086 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. ohio.edu/chsp/social-public-health/health-services-admin/undergraduate — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ohio.edu/provost/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Cincinnati, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $27,265 per semester · All students — College of Health and Human Sciences Full-Time Student Tuition & Fees, per semester, 12 Through 18 Credit Hours · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (400 hours)
View Program
Idaho State University logo

Idaho State University

Bachelor of Business Administration

B.B.A. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBBA AUPHA certified
Location: Pocatello, ID
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (180 hours)
View Program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

Bachelor of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA) — Traditional

Bachelor'sBHSADegree completion
Location: Miami, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 5 Semesters (upper-division program after 60 credits or an AA)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Ohio University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.