Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Doctorate in Healthcare Administration: DHA and PhD Programs

Doctor of Health Administration (DHA), PhD and other doctorates whose official title names health administration, health services administration or healthcare management. Each is labelled by its own award: a DHA is a professional doctorate, not a PhD.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Capella University

Doctor of Health Administration

DHA - Doctor of Health Administration

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 76 credits
Tuition: $820 per credit · All students — GuidedPath coursework, per quarter credit · year not statedEst. total tuition $62,320 (76 credits × $820 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University

Doctor of Health Administration

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Mount Pleasant, MIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: orientation, on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: Three-year or five-year degree plan (Three-year plan: two courses per term; five-year plan: one course per term.) · 63 credits
Tuition: $962 per credit · All students — Special program rate: Doctor of Health Administration · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,606 (63 credits × $962 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Franklin University

Doctor of Healthcare Administration

Doctor of Healthcare Administration (DHA)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: As few as 3 years, including one year for the dissertation (Minimum time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $828 per credit · All students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $49,680 (60 credits × $828 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Doctor of Health Administration

Doctor of Health Administration: Operational Leadership (Qualitative Research)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Phoenix, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $760 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $45,600 (60 credits × $760 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Doctor of Health Administration

Doctor of Health Administration: Operational Leadership (Quantitative Research)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Phoenix, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $760 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $45,600 (60 credits × $760 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Medical University of South Carolina

Doctor of Health Administration

Doctor of Health Administration - Hybrid (DHA)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Charleston, SCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, immersion · Study intensity not published
Duration: eight semesters · 57 credits
Tuition: $1,050 per credit · All students — In-state and out-of-state tuition (same rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,850 (57 credits × $1,050 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 28, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Medical University of South Carolina

Doctor of Health Administration

Doctor of Health Administration - Online (DHA)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Charleston, SCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: eight semesters (standard plan) or five semesters (accelerated plan) · 57 credits
Tuition: $1,050 per credit · All students — In-state and out-of-state tuition (same rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,850 (57 credits × $1,050 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 2, 2026 · Spring 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Tulane University logo

Tulane University

Doctor of Philosophy in Health Policy and Management

Health Policy and Management, PhD

PhDFunding not verified
Location: New Orleans, LA
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 48 credits
Tuition: $1,841 per credit · All students — Tuition (per credit hour) for all degree programs, 2026-2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $88,368 (48 credits × $1,841 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Doctor of Philosophy in Administration-Health Services

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Administration-Health Services

PhDPartial funding
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: typically 3 to 6 years (average 4.9 years) · 73 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Doctor of Science in Healthcare Leadership

Executive Doctor of Science (DSc) in Healthcare Leadership

Professional doctorateDScExecutiveFunding not verified
Location: Birmingham, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, immersion · Study intensity not published
Duration: three years (two years of coursework and one year of applied dissertation research) · 66 credits
Tuition: $36,600 per academic year · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus logo

University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus

Doctor of Health Administration

Executive Doctorate in Health Administration

Professional doctorateDHAExecutiveFunding not verified
Location: Denver, CO
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: 3-year program; approximately 36 months · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Minnesota logo

University of Minnesota

Doctor of Philosophy

Health Services Research, Policy & Administration PhD

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $10,962 per semester · Resident (in-state) — MS & PhD tuition, resident, full-time 6-14 credits (per semester band) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Doctor of Philosophy

Health Policy and Management, Doctoral Program (Ph.D.)

PhDPartial funding
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 4-5 years · 46 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of North Florida logo

University of North Florida

Doctor of Health Administration

Doctor of Health Administration (DHA)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Jacksonville, FLUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 48 credits
Tuition: $493.53 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Total Tuition and Fees for 1 Credit Hour (Florida Resident) · Fall 2026 - Summer 2Est. total tuition $54,090.24 (48 credits × $1,126.88 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of Phoenix

Doctor of Health Administration

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Phoenix, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 54 credits
Tuition: $810 per credit · All students — Cost per credit · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,740 (54 credits × $810 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Walden University

Doctor of Healthcare Administration

Doctor of Healthcare Administration (DHA)

Professional doctorateDHAFunding not verified
Location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: as few as 24 months (Applies to students who already hold an MHA (58 quarter credits).) · 58 credits
Tuition: $835 per credit · All students — Tuition per quarter credit (coursework and capstone) · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,430 (58 credits × $835 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Walden University

Doctor of Philosophy in Healthcare Administration

PhD in Healthcare Administration

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 53 credits
Tuition: $775 per credit · All students — Tuition per quarter hour (coursework and dissertation) · year not statedEst. total tuition $41,075 (53 credits × $775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program