Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham · Department of Health Services Administration

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Administration-Health Services

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Administration-Health Services

PhDDedicated degreePartial funding

Overview

A full-time residential research doctorate (part-time admission possible) typically completed in 3 to 6 years, with core, research methods and specialization coursework, comprehensive examinations in three areas and a dissertation. Competitive fellowships and research assistantships are available.

Official program name
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Administration-Health Services
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Administration-Health Services
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Birmingham, AL
Required credits
73-89 hours
Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
typically 3 to 6 years (average 4.9 years)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Research doctorate in administration of health services, listed by the department as the PhD in Health Services Administration.

Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.

Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Comprehensive examinations in health services, research methods and the specialization, then a dissertation (9 hours of dissertation research)
    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prerequisite courses
RequiredOne graduate statistics course and one health care systems course
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations from professional contacts
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredUpdated resume/CV and personal statement
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — Domestic $50; international $60
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding consideration deadline

    March 1 (priority deadline for those needing financial support) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

International Student Fee
$100 per termMandatory
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Partial funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated.

Funding guarantee
Blazer Graduate Fellowships for highly qualified first-year doctoral students: stipend, tuition and health insurance for four consecutive terms
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Years guaranteed
Assistantships awarded for one year, renewable for one additional year
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Assistantship duties
Limited competitive research assistantships with 20 work hours per week
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.uab.edu/graduate/schoolofhealthprofessions/healthservicesadministration/adminhealthservices/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/doctor-of-philosophy-phd — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/doctor-of-philosophy-phd/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/doctor-of-philosophy-phd/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/doctor-of-philosophy-phd/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-dsc — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus logo

University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus

Doctor of Health Administration

Executive Doctorate in Health Administration

Professional doctorateDHAExecutiveFunding not verified
Location: Denver, CO
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: 3-year program; approximately 36 months · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Doctor of Philosophy

Health Policy and Management, Doctoral Program (Ph.D.)

PhDPartial funding
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 4-5 years · 46 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Alabama at Birmingham. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.