Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham · Department of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degreeFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion

Overview

A 120-credit BS in Health Care Management with General Manager, Clinical Manager and Pre-Professional tracks and a required management internship in the final semester (240 contact hours, or 120 for the Clinical Manager track). UAB lists both on-campus and 100% online delivery.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Birmingham, AL
Specializations
General Manager · Clinical Manager · Pre-Professional
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
minimum of 120 hours
Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

UAB's degree page lists two delivery methods for the same BS: on-campus and 100% online ("This program can be taken completely online."). One record is kept because no separate online page, tuition or requirements were found.

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. Entering freshmen are admitted directly to the HCM programSource: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Admission from a community college or university with a 2.5 GPASource: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Degree completion program. Clinical Manager track for graduates of certificate and/or associate degree programs credentialed or licensed in a health professions disciplineSource: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management.

Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Management internship in the final semester: 6 credit hours (240 contact hours); Clinical Manager track 3 credit hours (120 contact hours).

    Published hours:
    240 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Fast-track options: BS in Health Care Management with MS in Health Informatics, MS in Healthcare Quality and Safety, or the entry-level OTD.
    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — High school GPA of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale (General Manager track)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredBackground check and drug screen required prior to the internship
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Licensure disclosures

A healthcare administration degree is not a clinical license. Some roles, such as nursing home administrator, are licensed by each state separately.

  • General Manager track plus a long-term-care-focused internship qualifies a student for the Alabama nursing home administrator licensure examination.
    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.uab.edu/undergraduate/schoolofhealthprofessions/healthservicesadministration/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. uab.edu/degrees/undergraduate/health-care-management-bs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-dsc — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. uab.edu/shp/hsa/undergraduate/fast-track-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uab.edu/shp/hsa/undergraduate/hcm-major — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uab.edu/shp/hsa/undergraduate/prospective-students/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Idaho State University logo

Idaho State University

Bachelor of Business Administration

B.B.A. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBBA AUPHA certified
Location: Pocatello, ID
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (180 hours)
View Program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

Bachelor of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA) — Traditional

Bachelor'sBHSADegree completion
Location: Miami, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 5 Semesters (upper-division program after 60 credits or an AA)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: San Marcos, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Alabama at Birmingham. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.