Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham · Department of Health Services Administration

Master of Science in Health Administration - Residential Format

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Administration

Master'sMSHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 71-credit-hour residential MSHA taught in a cohort over 21 months on campus in Birmingham, followed by a required paid 9-12 month administrative residency. First-year students work part time in the UAB Health System; GRE/GMAT and work experience are not required.

Official program name
Master of Science in Health Administration - Residential Format
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Administration
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Birmingham, AL
Required credits
71 hours
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
33 months (21 months of coursework plus 9-12 months of administrative residency)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

A separate Executive format exists for experienced professionals (own record).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Administration.

Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Full-time, paid administrative residency of 9 to 12 months after coursework; faculty assist students in securing positions.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Internship Required

    Summer internship or international experience for single-degree MSHA students

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Other

  • All first-year students take part in the UAB Health System Student Workforce Program (part-time work); first-year courses are taught in the mornings.
    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree completed or anticipated before entry
Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA 3.0 (overall or last 60 hours)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
Not requiredWork experience not required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — At least three letters of reference
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredOn-campus interview required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$70 — US $70; international $85
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational applicants are encouraged to explore residency placement early; proof of placement may be required before enrollment.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5One English proficiency test required for international students (TOEFL 4.0 new scale / 80 prior to 2026; PTEA 56; Duolingo 120).
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 120One of IELTS, TOEFL, PTEA or Duolingo for international students.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    December 1 each application cycle · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    July 31 (space available) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.uab.edu/graduate/schoolofhealthprofessions/healthservicesadministration/healthadministration — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-dsc — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-msha/faq — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha/administrative-residency — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha/faq — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Alabama at Birmingham. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.