Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Alabama at Birmingham campus — Hill University Center at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), built in 1983 as University Center. Renamed in
Hill University Center at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), built in 1983 as University Center. Renamed in 1991 to honor former university president S. Richardson Hill. Closed and demolished in fall 2013. The larger Hill Student Center, occupying the same site, was completed in December. Campus photograph of University of Alabama at Birmingham. · Photo: Aves · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham, ALPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

The Department of Health Services Administration in UAB's School of Health Professions offers a Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management, a Master of Science in Health Administration in residential and executive formats, several coordinated MSHA dual degrees, a PhD in Administration-Health Services and an Executive Doctor of Science in Healthcare Leadership. The School of Public Health offers an MPH concentration in Health Policy and Organization.

Healthcare administration programs at University of Alabama at Birmingham

10 eligible programs verified (1 bachelor's, 7 master's, 2 doctoral); formats: on campus, online with required campus visits. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Bachelor's Degrees in Healthcare Administration

University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Bachelor of Science in Health Care Management

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (240 hours)
View Program

Master's in Healthcare Administration and MHA Programs

University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Master of Science in Health Administration

Master of Science in Health Administration - Residential Format

Master'sMSHA CAHME accredited
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 33 months (21 months of coursework plus 9-12 months of administrative residency) · 71 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency, internship
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Master of Science in Health Administration

Executive Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA)

Master'sMSHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Birmingham, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, immersion · Full-time
Duration: 24 months (6 semesters) · 57 credits
Tuition: $29,800 per academic year · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Master of Science in Health Administration and Master of Science in Health Informatics

Coordinated Master of Science in Health Administration (Residential) and Master of Science in Health Informatics

Master'sMSHAJoint degree
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Master of Science in Health Administration and Master of Public Health

Coordinated Master of Science in Health Administration/Master of Public Health Program

Master'sMSHAJoint degree
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 89 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 89 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Master of Science in Health Administration and Master of Science in Healthcare Quality and Safety

Executive Health Administration and Master of Science in Healthcare Quality and Safety Coordinated Degree

Master'sMSHAJoint degreeExecutive
Location: Birmingham, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Doctoral Degrees in Healthcare Administration

University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Doctor of Philosophy in Administration-Health Services

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Administration-Health Services

PhDPartial funding
Location: Birmingham, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: typically 3 to 6 years (average 4.9 years) · 73 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Doctor of Science in Healthcare Leadership

Executive Doctor of Science (DSc) in Healthcare Leadership

Professional doctorateDScExecutiveFunding not verified
Location: Birmingham, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, immersion · Study intensity not published
Duration: three years (two years of coursework and one year of applied dissertation research) · 66 credits
Tuition: $36,600 per academic year · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since July 1, 1970 · next review 06/01/2031

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees (and labelled MBA/MPH pathways). These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, minors, nursing leadership degrees, generic MBA or MPH programs, health informatics degrees…).
  • Master of Science in Health Services ResearchResearch master's available only to students enrolled in the PhD program; not an administration degree.Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Health Informatics, Healthcare Quality and Safety, Healthcare Simulation (master's degrees)Health informatics, quality and simulation degrees without a named administration/management major.Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Graduate Certificate in Healthcare LeadershipGraduate certificate.Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Graduate Certificate in Healthcare Financial ManagementGraduate certificate.Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
Administration Bldg Suite 1070, Birmingham, AL 35294-0110
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Degrees awarded in health/hospital administration (IPEDS CIP 51.07, first major)
109 bachelor's, 54 master's, 14 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. catalog.uab.edu/graduate/schoolofhealthprofessions/healthservicesadministration/adminhealthservices/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.uab.edu/graduate/schoolofpublichealth/healthpolicyandorganization/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.uab.edu/undergraduate/schoolofhealthprofessions/healthservicesadministration/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), CIP 51.0701/51.0702 Health and Hospital Administration — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  7. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-dsc — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/residential-msha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile