Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Alabama at Birmingham logo

University of Alabama at Birmingham · Department of Health Services Administration

Executive Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Administration

Master'sMSHADedicated degreeExecutive CAHME accredited

Overview

A two-year, 57-semester-hour executive MSHA for professionals with at least five years of healthcare experience who are working full time. It combines distance learning with a four-and-a-half-day on-campus session each semester and a capstone with an international health system visit.

Official program name
Executive Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Administration
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Executive pathwayDesigned for working healthcare professionals, usually with a published work or management experience requirement. Executive describes who the program is for, not how it is delivered.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Birmingham, ALWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
minimum of 57 semester hours
Source: catalog.uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
24 months (6 semesters)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Executive format of the Master of Science in Health Administration.

Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Required

    Four-and-a-half-day on-campus session each semester (three per year)

    once per semester, three times per year · Birmingham, AL

    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Immersion Required

    Capstone course with an immersive international health system visit in the second year; tuition covers lodging, meals and materials, students pay transportation.

    once, second year · Outside the United States

    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.

Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Highly structured course sequence with no electives
    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA 3.0 (overall or last 60 hours)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredCurrently working full time in healthcare
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredAt least five years of healthcare-related work experience (clinical or management)
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume and statement of objectives with the online application
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview required before an admissions decision
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$70 — US $70; international $85
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International students take one of TOEFL (4.0; 80 prior to 2026), IELTS 6.5, PTEA 56 or Duolingo 120.
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    April 1 (later applications considered on a space-available basis) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$29,800per academic yearIncludes feesSource: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Total for the two-year program$59,600entire programIncludes feesSource: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $59,600 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Total for the two-year program, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Non-refundable acceptance deposit (applied to Semester 1)
$250 entire programMandatory
Source: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: uab.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Alabama.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.uab.edu/graduate/schoolofhealthprofessions/healthservicesadministration/healthadministration — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-dsc — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-msha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-msha/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-msha/capstone — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-msha/faq — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. uab.edu/shp/hsa/graduate/executive-msha/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Alabama at Birmingham. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.