Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Texas State University · School of Health Administration

Bachelor of Healthcare Administration

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBHADedicated degree AUPHA certified

Overview

A 120-credit-hour face-to-face bachelor's degree on the San Marcos campus. Students enter a four-semester professional sequence of 57 major credit hours that ends with a required healthcare administrative residency; the program is listed as AUPHA certified.

Official program name
Bachelor of Healthcare Administration
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Healthcare Administration
Source: mycatalog.txstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Marcos, TX
Required credits
120 credit hours (57 major-specific credit hours)
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Taught at the San Marcos campus; the program page lists the Round Rock campus as anticipated for Fall 2027.

How students enter this degree

Entry routes are not published on the pages we checked. Do not assume first-year, transfer or second-degree entry — ask the admissions office.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Bachelor of Healthcare Administration with a major in Healthcare Administration.

Source: mycatalog.txstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Healthcare administrative residency (HA 4848) in the fourth semester of the professional sequence; a background check is required before the residency semester.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Professional sequence completed over four semesters; HA 3308 must be completed before beginning the program.
    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prerequisite courses
RequiredContinuation into the major: Texas State GPA of 2.00, good academic standing, completed core curriculum, and support courses including MATH 1315, ECO 2301 or 2314, statistics and HA 3308.
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredLimited number of program spaces each fall and spring semester.
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    March 15 · for Fall (year not printed)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    October 15 · for Spring (year not printed)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) — certification: certifiedProgram covered: Bachelor of Healthcare AdministrationAUPHA certification is a peer-reviewed undergraduate certification, not accreditation. About AUPHA certificationSource: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. mycatalog.txstate.edu/undergraduate/health-professions/administration/healthcare-administration-bha/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. health.txst.edu/ha/prospective-students/admissions-information/undergraduate.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. health.txst.edu/ha/prospective-students/degree-plans/bha.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. health.txst.edu/ha/prospective-students/degree-plans/mltca.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas Woman's University logo

Texas Woman's University

Bachelor of Business Administration in Health Care Administration

BBA in Health Care Administration

Bachelor'sBBATransfer entry
Location: Denton, TX
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $238 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate Resident tuition per credit hour (statutory + designated), effective Fall 2026 thru Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $79,920 (120 credits × $666 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Idaho State University logo

Idaho State University

Bachelor of Business Administration

B.B.A. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBBA AUPHA certified
Location: Pocatello, ID
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (180 hours)
View Program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

Bachelor of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA) — Traditional

Bachelor'sBHSADegree completion
Location: Miami, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 5 Semesters (upper-division program after 60 credits or an AA)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Texas State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.