Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Texas State University · School of Health Administration

Master of Long-Term Care Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Long Term Care Administration

Master'sMLTCADedicated degree

Overview

A 33-credit-hour online master's degree in long-term care administration with 8-week terms and admission every 8 weeks. It includes a required Administrator-in-Training internship (LTCA 5681, taken twice) and is aligned with NAB domains of practice for long-term care administrator licensure.

Official program name
Master of Long-Term Care Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Long Term Care Administration
Source: mycatalog.txstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Marcos, TXWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
33 credit hours
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall 1, Fall 2, Spring 1, Spring 2, Summer 1, Summer 2
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master of Long Term Care Administration offered by the School of Health Administration: a dedicated administration degree for health care facilities (post-acute and long-term care). Listed with its exact award; it does not confer a nursing home administrator license.

Source: mycatalog.txstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Administrator-in-Training (AIT) internship, LTCA 5681 completed twice (6 credit hours each); students outside Texas must secure an internship meeting local certification requirements.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Internship

  • LTCA 5681 is completed twice, 6 credit hours each, to satisfy the internship requirement.
    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited university
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — 2.75 overall GPA or 2.75 GPA in the last 60 hours
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredResponses to specific essay questions on the statement of purpose
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGMAT also not required.
Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 4, 2027 · for Spring 1 2027

    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    August 11, 2027 · for Fall 1 2027

    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$502per creditEstimated tuition$16,566 = 33 credits × $502 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students$16,566entire programSource: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $16,566 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Licensure disclosures

A healthcare administration degree is not a clinical license. Some roles, such as nursing home administrator, are licensed by each state separately.

  • Curriculum aligns with state licensure requirements and NAB Domains of Practice; students must demonstrate proficiency in each domain and in state regulations to sit for boards.
    Source: health.txst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Texas.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. mycatalog.txstate.edu/graduate/health-professions/administration/long-term-care-mltca/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. health.txst.edu/ha/prospective-students/degree-plans/mltca.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. health.txst.edu/ha/prospective-students/degree-plans/mltca/mltca-admission-requirements.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. health.txst.edu/ha/prospective-students/degree-plans/mltca/mltca-application-deadlines.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas Woman's University logo

Texas Woman's University

Master of Healthcare Administration and Master of Business Administration

Dual Degree: MHA and MBA

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degree CAHME accredited
Location: Denton, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: immersion · Full-time or part-time
Duration: As few as 24 months; typically three academic years full-time (Minimum based on a fall or spring start; individual requirements may vary.) · 57 credits
Tuition: $323 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Resident tuition per credit hour, effective Fall 2026 thru Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $42,807 (57 credits × $751 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Trinity University logo

Trinity University

Master of Science in Health Care Administration

Health Care Administration (Executive) M.S.

Master'sMSExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: San Antonio, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: immersion, other in-person requirement · Part-time
Duration: 23-Month Curriculum · 43 credits
Tuition: $65,000 entire program · All students — Total Program Tuition (flat rate, includes all tuition and university fees) · year not stated
Next deadline: July 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Texas Woman's University logo

Texas Woman's University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Denton, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: immersion, orientation · Full-time or part-time
Duration: In as little as 18 months (based on a fall or spring start) (Minimum; based on a fall or spring start, individual requirements may vary.) · 45 credits
Tuition: $323 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Resident tuition per credit hour (statutory + designated + board authorized), effective Fall 2026 thru Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $33,795 (45 credits × $751 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Optional: internship
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Texas State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.