
Grand Canyon University · College of Doctoral Studies
Doctor of Health Administration: Operational Leadership (Qualitative Research)
Awarded degree: Doctor of Health Administration
Overview
Online 60-credit Doctor of Health Administration in operational leadership with a qualitative dissertation and two required in-person doctoral residencies in Arizona.
- Official program name
- Doctor of Health Administration: Operational Leadership (Qualitative Research)
- Awarded degree
- Doctor of Health AdministrationSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Degree level
- Doctoral — professional doctorate
- Program classification
- Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
- Pathway
- Standard pathway
- School
- Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Location
- Phoenix, AZWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Required credits
- 60 creditsSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
Awarded degree is a Doctor of Health Administration.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Campus attendance
- Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance requiredSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not published
In-person requirements as published
On-campus residency Required
Two required doctoral residencies (Monday-Friday) in Arizona
twice · Arizona
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026On-campus residency Required
Residency course RSD-883 The Qualitative Dissertation
Arizona
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Administrative residency, internship and practical experience
Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Curriculum
Dissertation
- Qualitative dissertation requiredSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other
- Up to 9 doctoral transfer creditsSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Applicants with a master's in health care administration or an allied health profession with clinical/practicum experience may have certain courses waivedSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredMaster's degree in healthcare administration or an applied healthcare profession with clinical or practicum experience, or a master's degree with at least two years of healthcare experienceSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — Master's GPA 3.4 or higher; 3.0-3.39 may be accepted with specifications; below 3.0 not acceptedSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Healthcare experience
- OptionalAlternative route: master's degree with at least two years of experience in a healthcare professionSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Online students | $760 | per creditEstimated tuition$45,600 = 60 credits × $760 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026 |
Estimated total tuition: $45,600 (60 credits × $760 per credit)
Comparison basis: Online students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate
Other published fees
- Doctoral residency fee (includes hotel, materials and meals)
- $1,315MandatorySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Funding
Funding classification: Funding not verified
We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.
Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Program accreditation and certification
No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.
International applicants
Not verified for this program.
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- gcu.edu/admissions/graduate-doctoral — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
- gcu.edu/college-of-doctoral-studies/about-doctoral-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- gcu.edu/degree-programs/dha-operational-leadership-qualitative — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Doctor of Health Administration
DHA - Doctor of Health Administration
Doctor of Health Administration
Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Grand Canyon University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.