Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University · College of Nursing and Health Care Professions

Master of Science in Health Administration with an Emphasis in Health Care Quality and Patient Safety

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Administration

Master'sMSHADedicated degree

Overview

Online 60-credit MS in Health Administration with an emphasis in health care quality and patient safety; courses are online and the 150-hour practicum is completed in person locally.

Official program name
Master of Science in Health Administration with an Emphasis in Health Care Quality and Patient Safety
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Administration
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Phoenix, AZWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Health Care Quality and Patient Safety
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
60 credits
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

All courses are completed online; the in-person hours the page mentions (clinical, practicum and immersion hours, attended locally) are recorded as the 150-hour practicum, not as campus attendance.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Administration (with a quality and patient safety emphasis).

Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    150 practicum/field experience hours, attended in person locally

    Published hours:
    150 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Health Care Quality and Patient Safety
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree from an accredited college or approved program
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — 2.8+ GPA, or 2.5+ GPA with GMAT 500 / GRE 300
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Optional — minimum 500Only for applicants with a 2.5-2.79 GPA (alternative to the 2.8 GPA route)
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GRE General Test
Optional — minimum 300Only for applicants with a 2.5-2.79 GPA (alternative to the 2.8 GPA route)
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students$610per creditEstimated tuition$36,600 = 60 credits × $610 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $36,600 (60 credits × $610 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. gcu.edu/degree-programs/master-science-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. gcu.edu/degree-programs/master-science-health-care-administration-health-care-quality-patient-safety — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Phoenix, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 17 months (MHA/MIS), traditional format (Printed in the traditional-format comparison.) · 36 credits
Tuition: $698 per credit · All students — Cost per credit · year not statedEst. total tuition $25,128 (36 credits × $698 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

University of Phoenix

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Master of Health Administration - MBA Dual Degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degree
Location: Phoenix, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 58 credits
Tuition: $698 per credit · All students — Cost per credit · year not statedEst. total tuition $40,484 (58 credits × $698 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of Phoenix

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (Competency-Based)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Phoenix, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than 12 months (Printed as 'Complete in less than 12 months and for under $11,000.') · 36 credits
Tuition: $10,800 entire program · All students — MHA-CB estimated program cost · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Grand Canyon University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.