Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Xavier University logo

Xavier University

Health Services Administration (Executive Program), MHSA

Awarded degree: Master of Health Services Administration

Master'sMHSADedicated degreeExecutive No campus visits CAHME accredited

Overview

A part-time, 100% online 42-credit Executive MHSA for professionals with three or more years of healthcare experience, with no on-campus visits and a capstone project aligned with the student's employer. Tuition is $739 per credit hour for 2026-2027.

Official program name
Health Services Administration (Executive Program), MHSA
Awarded degree
Master of Health Services Administration
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Executive pathwayDesigned for working healthcare professionals, usually with a published work or management experience requirement. Executive describes who the program is for, not how it is delivered.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Cincinnati, OHWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
42 credit hours
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
As little as two years; most students about three years; maximum six years (Minimum depends on course load; FAQ gives a six-year maximum while the program options page says up to 5 years.)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Executive Master of Health Services Administration; awarded degree is the MHSA.

Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required campus visits (stated)No required campus visits (stated)
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Capstone project aligned with the student's employing organization, supervised by a faculty member and a workplace mentor.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Can be completed with the student's employer
    Near the student's home:
    Yes, as stated
    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Administrative residency Not required

    Administrative residency not required; online Executive MHSA students are eligible for residencies if desired.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredDegree from a regionally accredited university
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3.2 — Preferred (not required): a minimum GPA of 3.2 is expected; holistic review.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedCoursework in accounting, economics and/or statistics recommended
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredThree or more years of healthcare experience, or similar (years)
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of intent, 500-700 words
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation, including one from a current or former employer
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredAdmissions interview by phone or video
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$739per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$31,038 = 42 credits × $739 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $31,038 (42 credits × $739 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Student ID Fee
$15Mandatory
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Graduate Student Association Fee, degree-seeking part-time
$10 per semesterMandatory
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health Services AdministrationExecutive MHSA (100% online)CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Xavier is not currently able to accept applications from all states into all of its online programs; see the State Authorization page. Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

  • International students residing outside the U.S. cannot be accepted; F-1/J-1 visa holders cannot enroll in an online degree to meet visa requirements.Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. xavier.edu/executive-masters-of-health-services-administration/index — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/admission/index — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/mhsa-faqs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/program-information/index — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/scholarships-financial-aid/index — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Cincinnati

Master of Health Administration

Executive Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Part-time
Duration: Two program duration options (Fast-Track or Extended) · 40 credits
Tuition: $754 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident Total Cost, part-time per credit hour (instructional fee plus general, ITIE, program and distance learning fees) · year not statedEst. total tuition $30,760 (40 credits × $769 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 4, 2026 · Spring 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Franklin University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA
Location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 14 month completion (As printed; taking one class at a time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $690 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $24,840 (36 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
The Ohio State University logo

The Ohio State University

Executive Master of Health Administration

Online Executive Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: As quickly as 18 months (5 semesters) (Minimum pace.) · 45 credits
Tuition: $1,070 per credit · Online students — Instructional Fee per credit hour, Executive Master of Health Administration – Distance Learning (per-credit fees capped at the cost of 8 credit hours) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $48,150 (45 credits × $1,070 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 4, 2026 · Spring 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Xavier University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.