Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Xavier University logo

Xavier University

Full-Time MHSA

Awarded degree: Master of Health Services Administration

Master'sMHSADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A full-time, on-campus 64-credit MHSA completed in three years: four semesters of coursework in Cincinnati followed by a required paid 8-12 month administrative residency or 12-24 month fellowship, plus a master's project. CAHME-accredited since 1969.

Official program name
Full-Time MHSA
Awarded degree
Master of Health Services Administration
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Required credits
64 credits
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Three years (including the residency year)
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Services Administration.

Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Paid 8-12 month administrative residency (or 12-24 month fellowship) in the third year; students apply in the second year through a competitive process, with faculty help, and may be placed anywhere in the country.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Internship Optional

    The summer after the first year has no courses but an opportunity to complete an internship.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Project

  • Students are required to complete a master's project.
    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Paid co-op placements may begin in the spring semester of the first year and continue through the second year.
    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in any field from a fully accredited school
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3.2 — A minimum GPA of 3.2 is expected; holistic review.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedRecommended courses: statistics and microeconomics
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RecommendedDemonstrated interest in healthcare through paid or unpaid work in healthcare.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation (one academic and one professional)
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredQualified applicants will be invited for an interview.
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo fee for Xavier's online application (HAMPCAS, an option from Fall 2027, charges fees).
Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Final deadline

    May 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — College of Health and Human Sciences Student Tuition, per credit hour: MHSAFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$739per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$47,296 = 64 credits × $739 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $47,296 (64 credits × $739 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — College of Health and Human Sciences Student Tuition, per credit hour: MHSA, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health Services AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: xavier.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. xavier.edu/executive-masters-of-health-services-administration/index — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/admission/index — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/mhsa-faqs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/program-information/gphsa/index — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. xavier.edu/master-of-health-services-administration-program/residency/index — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. xavier.edu/tuition-fees/graduate-current — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

The Ohio State University logo

The Ohio State University

Master of Health Administration and Doctor of Medicine

Master of Health Administration/Doctor of Medicine (MHA/MD)

Master'sMHA/MDJoint degree
Location: Columbus, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
The Ohio State University logo

The Ohio State University

Master of Health Administration and Juris Doctor

Master of Health Administration/Juris Doctor (MHA/JD)

Master'sMHA/JDJoint degree
Location: Columbus, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Xavier University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.