Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
The Ohio State University logo

The Ohio State University · Division of Health Services Management and Policy

Online Executive Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Executive Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degreeExecutive CAHME accredited

Overview

A 45-credit-hour executive MHA delivered through 100% online, asynchronous courses for professionals with at least five years of healthcare management or clinical experience. Students can start in autumn, spring or summer and finish in as few as 18 months; optional in-person and hybrid professional development events are offered, and Ohio State states the program has been approved for CAHME accreditation.

Official program name
Online Executive Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Executive Master of Health Administration
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Executive pathwayDesigned for working healthcare professionals, usually with a published work or management experience requirement. Executive describes who the program is for, not how it is delivered.
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Columbus, OHWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
45 credit hours
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
As quickly as 18 months (5 semesters) (Minimum pace.)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Autumn, Spring, Summer
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Course load per semester: one 14-week course and two seven-week courses.

Why this program is listed

Executive Master of Health Administration offered by the College of Public Health; the award wording on the online page is Executive Master of Health Administration (EMHA).

Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedOptional campus visits
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Optional

    Optional in-person and virtual professional development and networking, including events connected to the residential MHA such as the annual Management Institute; dedicated hybrid professional development sessions typically once per semester.

    typically once per semester

    Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Culminating project addressing issues facing healthcare leaders.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Bachelor's degree with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredFive or more years of healthcare management and/or clinical experience
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume or CV
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$155 — $155 SOPHAS application fee plus $60 Ohio State supplemental application fee
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 4, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 2, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 16, 2027 · for Autumn 2027

    Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Instructional Fee per credit hour, Executive Master of Health Administration – Distance Learning (per-credit fees capped at the cost of 8 credit hours)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,070per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$48,150 = 45 credits × $1,070 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: registrar.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $48,150 (45 credits × $1,070 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Instructional Fee per credit hour, Executive Master of Health Administration – Distance Learning (per-credit fees capped at the cost of 8 credit hours), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

General Fee (per credit hour)
$33.94 per creditMandatory
Source: registrar.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Distance Education Non-Resident Surcharge (non-residents exclusively enrolled in an Ohio State Online program)
$200 per termMandatory
Source: registrar.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Ohio State supplemental application fee
$60 entire programMandatory
Source: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Executive Master of Health AdministrationOnline Executive Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Ohio State participates in SARA; California is not a SARA member, but OSU may offer online programs to California students under the California Private Post-Secondary Act of 2009. Official pageSource: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Ohio State participates in SARA; California is not a SARA member state, but OSU may offer online programs to students in California under the California Private Post-Secondary Act of 2009. Official pageSource: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cph.osu.edu/future-students/graduate-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. cph.osu.edu/mha/executive-master-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. cph.osu.edu/phd/health-services-management-policy — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.osu.edu/masters-degree/executive-master-of-health-administration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. registrar.osu.edu/student-hub/tuition-and-fees/graduate-tuition-and-fees-2026-2027/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Cincinnati

Master of Health Administration

Executive Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Part-time
Duration: Two program duration options (Fast-Track or Extended) · 40 credits
Tuition: $754 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident Total Cost, part-time per credit hour (instructional fee plus general, ITIE, program and distance learning fees) · year not statedEst. total tuition $30,760 (40 credits × $769 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 4, 2026 · Spring 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
Xavier University logo

Xavier University

Master of Health Services Administration

Health Services Administration (Executive Program), MHSA

Master'sMHSAExecutive CAHME accredited No campus visits
Location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.No required campus visits (stated) · Part-time
Duration: As little as two years; most students about three years; maximum six years (Minimum depends on course load; FAQ gives a six-year maximum while the program options page says up to 5 years.) · 42 credits
Tuition: $739 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $31,038 (42 credits × $739 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Franklin University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA
Location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 14 month completion (As printed; taking one class at a time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $690 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $24,840 (36 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with The Ohio State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.