Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
The Ohio State University logo

The Ohio State University · Division of Health Services Management and Policy

Residential MHA

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A residential MHA of at least 57 credit hours, completed full time in two years or part time in three, combining in-person and distance-learning courses. It includes clinical rotations at the Wexner Medical Center, a 12- to 14-week summer administrative residency and a business plan capstone; the program states CAHME accreditation and the GRE is optional.

Official program name
Residential MHA
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Columbus, OH
Required credits
Minimum of 57 credit hours
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two years full time or three years part time
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Autumn
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The curriculum guide notes students take a combination of in-person (IP) and distance-learning (DL) courses, but the program is not considered an online program.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Summer administrative residency of 12 to 14 weeks, full time, at a healthcare organization between the first and second year; the program helps students find a site.

    Published hours:
    12 weeks
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Practical requirement Required

    Clinical rotations at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center (PUBHHMP 7672 Clinical Rotations is a required course).

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arranged by the program
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Integrative business plan capstone.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Public health foundation courses (6 credit hours), required courses (40.5), electives (10.5) and the administrative residency.
    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredFinancial accounting prerequisite (three credit hours)
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalInterviews for select applicants
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — Ohio State supplemental application fee ($60 domestic), in addition to the SOPHAS/HAMPCAS application
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    December 1 · for Autumn (year not printed)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    February 2 · for Autumn (year not printed)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Instructional Fee per credit hour, Master of Health Administration (Columbus graduate fee table; per-credit fees capped at the cost of 8 credit hours; non-residents also pay a surcharge)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,100per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$62,700 = 57 credits × $1,100 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: registrar.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $62,700 (57 credits × $1,100 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Instructional Fee per credit hour, Master of Health Administration (Columbus graduate fee table; per-credit fees capped at the cost of 8 credit hours; non-residents also pay a surcharge), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

General Fee (per credit hour)
$33.94 per creditMandatory
Source: registrar.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationMaster of Health Administration programs, College of Public HealthCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: cph.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Ohio State participates in SARA; California is not a SARA member state, but OSU may offer online programs to students in California under the California Private Post-Secondary Act of 2009. Official pageSource: online.osu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cph.osu.edu/doc/curriculum-guide/mha-curriculum-guide-26-27/view — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. cph.osu.edu/future-students/graduate-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. cph.osu.edu/mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. cph.osu.edu/mha/master-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. cph.osu.edu/mha/master-health-administration/program-study — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. cph.osu.edu/mha/master-health-administration/residency — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. cph.osu.edu/mha/master-health-administration/scholarships-financial-aid — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. cph.osu.edu/phd/health-services-management-policy — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. online.osu.edu/masters-degree/executive-master-of-health-administration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  11. registrar.osu.edu/student-hub/tuition-and-fees/graduate-tuition-and-fees-2026-2027/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Xavier University logo

Xavier University

Master of Health Services Administration

Full-Time MHSA

Master'sMHSA CAHME accredited
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Three years (including the residency year) · 64 credits
Tuition: $739 per credit · All students — College of Health and Human Sciences Student Tuition, per credit hour: MHSA · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,296 (64 credits × $739 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: February 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Xavier University logo

Xavier University

Master of Health Services Administration and Master of Business Administration

Master of Health Services Administration / Master of Business Administration, MHSA / MBA

Master'sMHSA/MBAJoint degree
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: Three years · 97 credits
Tuition: $739 per credit · All students — College of Health and Human Sciences Student Tuition, per credit hour: MHSA (dual degree students pay the MHSA rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $71,683 (97 credits × $739 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with The Ohio State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.