Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Louisville logo

University of Louisville · Department of Health Management & Systems Sciences

Master of Science in Health Administration, 100% Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Administration

Master'sMSDedicated degree No campus visits CAHME accredited

Overview

A 100% online, primarily asynchronous MS in Health Administration of 43 credit hours (46 for students without a year of health care organizational experience, who add a practicum series), offered in five 8-week terms a year with a culminating capstone. The program states CAHME accreditation.

Official program name
Master of Science in Health Administration, 100% Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Administration
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: publichealth.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Louisville, KYWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
43 credit hours (46 without one year of health care organizational experience)
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
As few as 2 years, or part-time over 4+ yearsA minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The FAQ refers to a separate on-campus MSHA with a required practicum and different requirements; no current program page for it was found.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Administration.

Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required campus visits (stated)No required campus visits (stated)
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Optional

    Three-credit MSHA Practicum Series (PHMS 686, 691 and 692) for students with less than or no health care organizational experience

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Waiver:
    Required only for students admitted with less than one year of health care organizational experience.
    Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or equivalent from an accredited institution
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale; conditional acceptance may be possible below
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RecommendedAt least one year of experience within a health care organization or system (years); applicants with less may be admitted but must add the practicum series
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredOne-page personal statement
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with the HMSS Health Leadership Committee
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — $65 non-refundable application fee
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Academic Year Tuition$863per creditEstimated tuition$37,109 = 43 credits × $863 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Military tuition rate$250per creditEstimated tuition$10,750 = 43 credits × $250 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $37,109 (43 credits × $863 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Academic Year Tuition, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online course fee
$10 per creditMandatory
Source: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health AdministrationOnline MSHACAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: online.louisville.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Kentucky.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Kentucky first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Louisville. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.