Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
George Mason University logo

George Mason University · College of Public Health

Online Master of Health Administration (MHA) in Health Systems Management

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

The online MHA in Health Systems Management is a 39-credit program priced at $895 per credit plus a $35-per-credit distance learning fee, with mostly asynchronous courses, a required concentration and a 6- to 8-week capstone practicum with a host organization.

Official program name
Online Master of Health Administration (MHA) in Health Systems Management
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Fairfax, VAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Concentration in Healthcare Quality · Executive Concentration
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
39 total credits
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
30 months for most students, taking one course per semester; up to six years allowed (most students, one course per semester)
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same curriculum as the on-campus MHA; the catalog describes it as a premium-priced online program with courses taken one at a time in an accelerated 8-week format.

Why this program is listed

Online version of the Master of Health Administration in Health Systems Management, with its own page and per-credit price.

Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    6- to 8-week capstone practicum with a host health care organization in the final semester; it requires some synchronous meetings and in-field engagement.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum of a 3.0 GPA
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
OptionalA prior health-related degree or field experience is not required but is considered.
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Purpose and objectives
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students$895per creditEstimated tuition$34,905 = 39 credits × $895 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $34,905 (39 credits × $895 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance Learning fee
$35 per creditMandatory
Source: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health Administrationon-campus and online MHA programCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: masononline.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.gmu.edu/colleges-schools/public-health/health-administration-policy-informatics/health-syste — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. masononline.gmu.edu/programs/health-administration-bs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. masononline.gmu.edu/programs/health-systems-administration-online/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

Master of Science in Health Administration

Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA)

Master'sMSHA CAHME accredited
Location: Richmond, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 22 months (Full-time schedule; part-time students spend about 10 additional months in classes per the bulletin.) · 41 credits
Tuition: $47,000 entire program · Resident (in-state) — Estimated total in-state tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Master of Science in Healthcare Administration Online

Master'sMS
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 42 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,200 (42 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with George Mason University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.