Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
George Mason University logo

George Mason University · Department of Health Administration, Policy, and Informatics

Health Systems Management, MHA

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 39-credit MHA in Health Systems Management taught mostly in the evening at the Fairfax Campus, with a required concentration in Healthcare Quality or an Executive Concentration and a capstone practicum completed with a health care organization.

Official program name
Health Systems Management, MHA
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Fairfax, VA
Specializations
Concentration in Healthcare Quality · Executive Concentration
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Total credits: 39
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Students can complete their degree at their own pace provided that they do so within six years of starting the program. (maximum time limit, not a typical duration)
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The catalog says the MHA is offered in on-campus and online delivery formats with the same curriculum, but students apply to and matriculate through only one pathway; the premium-priced online version has its own record.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration in Health Systems Management.

Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • In-person class sessions Required

    Most courses taught in the evening at the Fairfax Campus; some on Saturdays, a few at the Arlington Campus, a small percentage online.

    evenings, some Saturdays · Fairfax, VA

    Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    Capstone Practicum completed at the end of the program as a member of a health care organization, with a non-thesis project assigned by the preceptor.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: publichealth.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Bachelor's/accelerated master's (BAM) pathway: highly qualified undergraduates can earn any bachelor's degree and the MHA after a minimum of 150 credits.
    Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RecommendedWork experience in the healthcare industry is preferred but not required.
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal professional goal statement evaluated
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV/Resume
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredApplicants who meet the criteria have a brief personal interview with faculty (video conferencing possible).
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: hapi.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100Applies to international students; below-threshold scores require EAP 508 (4 credits) in the first semester.
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    4/1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publichealth.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    8/1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publichealth.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    11/1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publichealth.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health Administrationon-campus and online MHA programCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: publichealth.gmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.gmu.edu/colleges-schools/public-health/health-administration-policy-informatics/health-syste — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. hapi.gmu.edu/academics/health-administration/health-systems-management-mha/mha-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. hapi.gmu.edu/admissions/undergraduate-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. publichealth.gmu.edu/admissions/graduate-admissions/standards-requirements-and-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. publichealth.gmu.edu/program/health-systems-management-mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

Master of Health Administration and Juris Doctor

Health Administration, Master of (M.H.A.)/Juris Doctor (J.D.) from the University of Richmond [dual degree]

Master'sMHAJoint degree
Location: Richmond, VA
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: minimum four years of coordinated study (Minimum) · 123 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Five semesters full time; part-time students have up to six years (Full-time enrollment) · 43 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026) · Fall 2026Est. total tuition $65,489 (43 credits × $1,523 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency, field experience
View Program
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Richmond, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Length not published · 59 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with George Mason University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.