Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University · Department of Health Administration

Health Administration, Master of (M.H.A.)/Juris Doctor (J.D.) from the University of Richmond [dual degree]

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration and Juris Doctor

Master'sMHAJoint degree

Overview

A dual degree with the University of Richmond School of Law (which awards the JD) completed in a minimum of four years and 123 credit hours. Dual-degree students complete a ten-week summer administrative internship instead of the MHA residency and must be admitted to both programs separately.

Official program name
Health Administration, Master of (M.H.A.)/Juris Doctor (J.D.) from the University of Richmond [dual degree]
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration and Juris Doctor
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Joint or dual degreeAn official combined program in which one of the awarded degrees is a healthcare administration degree, such as an MHA/MBA. Each award is shown as published.
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Richmond, VA
Required credits
minimum 123 credit hours (combined)
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
minimum four years of coordinated study (Minimum)
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Dual degree in which VCU awards the Master of Health Administration; the Juris Doctor is awarded by the University of Richmond School of Law.

Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Format not verified
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Ten-week summer administrative internship in place of the MHA residency

    Published hours:
    10 weeks
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Other requirement
RequiredSeparate admission to both the MHA program and the University of Richmond School of Law
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.vcu.edu/graduate/school-allied-health-professions/health-administration/health-administrati — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ha.chp.vcu.edu/contact-us/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ha.chp.vcu.edu/programs/mha-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

George Mason University logo

George Mason University

Master of Health Administration

Health Systems Management, MHA

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Fairfax, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Students can complete their degree at their own pace provided that they do so within six years of starting the program. (maximum time limit, not a typical duration) · 39 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Five semesters full time; part-time students have up to six years (Full-time enrollment) · 43 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026) · Fall 2026Est. total tuition $65,489 (43 credits × $1,523 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency, field experience
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Public Health — Health Management and Policy

Public Health with a Concentration in Health Management and Policy (MPH)

Master'sMPHMPH pathway
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Five academic terms full time (Full-time enrollment) · 43 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026) · Fall 2026Est. total tuition $65,489 (43 credits × $1,523 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.