Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Public Health with a Concentration in Health Management and Policy (MPH)

Awarded degree: Master of Public Health — Health Management and Policy

Master'sMPHMPH pathway

Overview

A 43-credit MPH with a Health Management and Policy track covering healthcare strategy, financing, policy and organizational management, with an applied practice experience. It can be completed in a classroom format or online; full-time students can finish in five academic terms.

Official program name
Public Health with a Concentration in Health Management and Policy (MPH)
Awarded degree
Master of Public Health
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
MPH with a health management pathwayNamed option: Health Management and PolicyA Master of Public Health with an officially named health policy and management or health administration concentration. The awarded degree is the MPH.
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Location
Norfolk, VA
Required credits
43 credit hours
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Five academic terms full time (Full-time enrollment)
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The catalog states the program can be completed in a traditional classroom format or online; most courses are offered once per year for both online and on-campus students.

Why this program is listed

MPH with an officially named Health Management and Policy concentration.

Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    MPHO 669 Applied Practice Experience

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — Bachelor's degree with a GPA of 2.8 or higher
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Not requiredNo prerequisite courses for the Health Management and Policy track
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal essay of about 500 words
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International applicants; minimum 79 iBT or 550 paper.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7International applicants.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$672per credit · Fall 2026Estimated tuition$28,896 = 43 credits × $672 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, Out of State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,523per credit · Fall 2026Estimated tuition$65,489 = 43 credits × $1,523 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $65,489 (43 credits × $1,523 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, Out of State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026), Fall 2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.odu.edu/graduate/joint-school-public-health/programs/public-health-health-management-and-pol — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. odu.edu/tuition/rates — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

Master of Health Administration and Juris Doctor

Health Administration, Master of (M.H.A.)/Juris Doctor (J.D.) from the University of Richmond [dual degree]

Master'sMHAJoint degree
Location: Richmond, VA
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: minimum four years of coordinated study (Minimum) · 123 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program
George Mason University logo

George Mason University

Master of Health Administration

Health Systems Management, MHA

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Fairfax, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Students can complete their degree at their own pace provided that they do so within six years of starting the program. (maximum time limit, not a typical duration) · 39 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Richmond, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Length not published · 59 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.