Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Public Health with a Major in Health Services Administration (Professional) (BSPH)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Public Health

Bachelor'sBSPHDedicated degreeDegree completionDegree completion

Overview

A version of the BSPH in Health Services Administration for health professionals who hold a certification or associate degree in a health-related discipline and practice credentials. It is available fully online with the option of some campus courses and includes a culminating internship.

Official program name
Public Health with a Major in Health Services Administration (Professional) (BSPH)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Public Health
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Degree completionFor students who already hold college credits or an associate degree.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Norfolk, VAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Degree completion program. For health professionals with a certification or Associate of Science degree in a health-related disciplineSource: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

This is a degree-completion route: it is not a standard first-year admission option.

Why this program is listed

Bachelor of Science in Public Health with a major in Health Services Administration (professional version for credentialed health professionals).

Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Planned, supervised and evaluated internship (PUBH 468) as a culminating experience

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Internship

  • Internship learning contract deadlines: May 1 (summer), August 1 (fall), December 1 (spring)
    Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2 — Minimum cumulative GPA of 2.00 for major declaration
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredCredentials to practice in a health field and experience as a health care provider
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$443per credit · Fall 2026Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.odu.edu/undergraduate/joint-school-public-health/programs/health-services-administration-pro — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. odu.edu/tuition/rates — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Bachelor of Science in Healthcare Administration

Bachelor of Science in Healthcare Administration (Online)

Bachelor'sBSTransfer entry
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $410 per credit · All students — Undergraduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $49,200 (120 credits × $410 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: internship
View Program
George Mason University logo

George Mason University

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration

Health Administration (BS) — Online

Bachelor'sBS AUPHA certified
Location: Fairfax, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program

Franklin University

Bachelor of Science in Healthcare Administration

B.S. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBSTransfer entry
Location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $398 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,760 (120 credits × $398 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: internship
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.