Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University · Department of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 59-credit full-time MHA with two years of on-campus coursework in Richmond followed by a required paid administrative residency arranged through a facilitated match process. Applications go through HAMPCAS and are reviewed on a rolling basis, with interviews for selected applicants.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration (MHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Richmond, VA
Required credits
59 credit hours
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Required ten-month paid administrative residency (practicum) under a senior executive; sites are selected through a facilitated match process.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Administrative residency Required

    Residency site selection through a program-facilitated match in which organizations interview students on campus.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 48 credit hours of core coursework, at least three elective credit hours and eight credit hours of practicum coursework within the administrative residency.
    Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredConferred or in-progress bachelor's or graduate degree
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 on a 4-point scale in undergraduate work and/or substantial graduate-level achievement
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
Recommended1-2 years of work experience, shadowing or internship preferred
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of no more than two pages
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInvited on-campus interview day for eligible applicants
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational applicants must have a residency site identified and secured in their home country
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredResponse to a critical thinking prompt (health disparities scenario)
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplications are submitted through HAMPCAS
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedGRE/GMAT currently waived by the admissions committee (bulletin).
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
WaivedGRE/GMAT currently waived by the admissions committee (bulletin).
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 250Computer-based TOEFL minimum for international applicants.
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    April 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Funding consideration deadline

    Jan 1 (applications received by this date are given priority for funding) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.vcu.edu/graduate/school-allied-health-professions/health-administration/health-administrati — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ha.chp.vcu.edu/contact-us/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ha.chp.vcu.edu/programs/mha-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

George Mason University logo

George Mason University

Master of Health Administration

Health Systems Management, MHA

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Fairfax, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Students can complete their degree at their own pace provided that they do so within six years of starting the program. (maximum time limit, not a typical duration) · 39 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Healthcare Administration

Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Five semesters full time; part-time students have up to six years (Full-time enrollment) · 43 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026) · Fall 2026Est. total tuition $65,489 (43 credits × $1,523 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency, field experience
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Public Health — Health Management and Policy

Public Health with a Concentration in Health Management and Policy (MPH)

Master'sMPHMPH pathway
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Five academic terms full time (Full-time enrollment) · 43 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition Rates, In State Per Credit Hour (effective Fall 2026) · Fall 2026Est. total tuition $65,489 (43 credits × $1,523 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.