Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University · Department of Health Administration

Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Administration

Master'sMSHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 41-credit MSHA for working healthcare professionals with three to five years of experience. Coursework is mostly asynchronous online, with three required synchronous long-weekend sessions each semester, one of them in person at the College of Health Professions in Richmond.

Official program name
Master of Science in Health Administration (MSHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Administration
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Richmond, VAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
14 courses, 41 credit hours
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
22 months (Full-time schedule; part-time students spend about 10 additional months in classes per the bulletin.)
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The program page calls the MSHA a hybrid program; it is recorded as online with required attendance because one synchronous session per semester is held in person. The 2026-27 bulletin still describes six approximately week-long on-campus sessions; the program page's current session calendar was used.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Administration.

Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Required

    Three synchronous long-weekend sessions each semester: two over Zoom and one in person at the College of Health Professions (October and March).

    one in-person long-weekend session per semester · College of Health Professions, Richmond, VA

    Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.

Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Curriculum

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Bachelor's degree with a 2.75 GPA for all undergraduate work
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
Required3-5 years of professional/managerial/health care experience
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement and response to a critical thinking prompt
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of reference from managers or leaders (the bulletin lists three)
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Estimated total in-state tuition$47,000entire programSource: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Estimated total non-resident/out-of-state tuition$76,000entire programSource: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $76,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Estimated total non-resident/out-of-state tuition, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: ha.chp.vcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.vcu.edu/graduate/school-allied-health-professions/health-administration/health-administrati — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ha.chp.vcu.edu/contact-us/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ha.chp.vcu.edu/programs/msha-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Master of Science in Healthcare Administration Online

Master'sMS
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 42 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,200 (42 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
George Mason University logo

George Mason University

Master of Health Administration

Online Master of Health Administration (MHA) in Health Systems Management

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Fairfax, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Part-time
Duration: 30 months for most students, taking one course per semester; up to six years allowed (most students, one course per semester) · 39 credits
Tuition: $895 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $34,905 (39 credits × $895 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.