Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University · Health Administration Division

Online Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited (probation)

Overview

A 39-credit online Master of Health Administration with asynchronous classes and live learning options, ending in a capstone built around a healthcare case competition, with a thesis option and an internship option for students without healthcare experience. CAHME accreditation runs through 2026 and the program is on probationary status.

Official program name
Online Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Mount Pleasant, MIWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
39 credits
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Capstone presentation Not verified

    Capstone case competition course: recommendations defended before a panel of practicing healthcare executives; format/location not stated.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Optional

    Internship option for students with no prior healthcare work experience (MHA 699), or applied research project (MHA 698)

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Thesis

  • Students pursuing a research-focused path may complete a thesis instead of the case competition capstone.
    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accelerated options

  • Accelerated MHA for current CMU undergraduates: up to 15 credits double-counted; minimum 60 undergraduate credits before starting.
    Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate or equivalent degree from a regionally accredited institution; AUPHA-certified program graduates receive priority consideration
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.7 — At least a 2.70 undergraduate GPA (or 2.70 in the last 60 hours); 2.50-2.69 may be admitted with stipulations
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredCompetency in math and statistics required; economics, basic accounting and communication skills recommended
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of 500-1000 words
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredApplicants from non-English speaking countries; minimum section scores Reading 22, Listening 22, Speaking 26, Writing 24.
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 31 (applying before July 31 is recommended) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Master's/Specialist, U.S. resident tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$862per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$33,618 = 39 credits × $862 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Graduate Master's/Specialist, international tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,062per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$41,418 = 39 credits × $1,062 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,618 (39 credits × $862 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Master's/Specialist, U.S. resident tuition, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Student Services Fee
$225 per semesterMandatory
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accredited — on probationProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationAccredited through 2026; currently on probationary statusCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Michigan.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cmich.smartcatalogiq.com/2026-2027/graduate-bulletin/colleges-and-departments/health-sciences-school — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.cmich.edu/program/online-master-of-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. cmich.edu/offices-departments/finance-administrative-services/financial-services-reporting/student-a — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. cmich.edu/program/Doctor-of-Health-Administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. cmich.edu/program/Master-of-Health-Administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Central Michigan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.