Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of North Carolina Wilmington logo

University of North Carolina Wilmington · School of Health & Applied Human Sciences

Master of Healthcare Administration Online

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree

Overview

A 48-credit online MHA delivered in seven-week courses with six start dates a year; it includes a capstone and two practicum courses that experienced healthcare professionals may request to waive, reducing the total to 42 credits. The program states CAHME accreditation.

Official program name
Master of Healthcare Administration Online
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Wilmington, NCWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
48 credit hours (42 if the practicum courses are waived)
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall 2, Spring 1, Spring 2, Summer 1, Summer 2
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Healthcare Administration.

Source: uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time or Full-time
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    Two practicum courses (HCA 593 and HCA 594, 6 credit hours) conducted over two terms

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Waiver:
    Students who meet experience, role, work-setting and undergraduate-degree criteria can request a waiver of HCA 593 and 594; the total then decreases to 42 credit hours.
    Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an institutionally accredited college or university
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
OptionalPrior healthcare experience strengthens applications but is not always required
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for initial review; official transcript if admitted
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — MHA (in-state residents) – estimated total tuition & fees$17,033entire program · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA (out-of-state residents) – estimated total tuition & fees$63,865entire program · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: onlinedegree.uncw.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $63,865 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA (out-of-state residents) – estimated total tuition & fees, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside North Carolina.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. onlinedegree.uncw.edu/programs/healthcare/mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. uncw.edu/academics/majors-programs/chhs/healthcare-administration-mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Master of Healthcare Administration

Executive Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, in-person class sessions · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years · 49 credits
Tuition: $1,146.12 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Health Policy and Management Distance Ed (mhahpmx), NC resident, per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $104,887.44 (49 credits × $2,140.56 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: June 8, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Appalachian State University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA) – Online

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Boone, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: two years full-time; three years part-time (Full-time completes in two years; part-time in three years.) · 46 credits
Tuition: $344.21 per credit · Online students — App State Online graduate, NC Resident, total per credit hour (before MHA differential) · Fall 2026/Spring 202Est. total tuition $15,833.66 (46 credits × $344.21 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: Winston-Salem, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: internship
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina Wilmington. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.