Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Department of Health Policy and Management

Executive Master of Healthcare Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degreeExecutive CAHME accredited

Overview

A two-year executive MHA for people employed full time in healthcare, combining synchronous online classes through Zoom with periodic in-person sessions in Chapel Hill and an applied capstone. The catalog states that the M.H.A. program is CAHME accredited.

Official program name
Executive Master of Healthcare Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Executive pathwayDesigned for working healthcare professionals, usually with a published work or management experience requirement. Executive describes who the program is for, not how it is delivered.
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Chapel Hill, NCWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
Minimum 49 hours
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two years
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The residential MHA is a separate program (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is the MHA (executive, online format).

Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Required

    In-person sessions (onsites) in Chapel Hill; the program page says seven times over the two years, the catalog says six intensive sessions.

    Seven times over two years (program page); early August, December and May · Chapel Hill, NC

    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • On-campus residency Required

    Onsite sessions occur in early August, December and May.

    Early August, December and May · Chapel Hill, NC

    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • In-person class sessions Required

    Weekly live online classes through Zoom.

    weekly · online

    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Applied capstone experience in the second year.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • A journaling course every term to apply learning to the student's current work context.
    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate degree with a GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedPreparation in microeconomics, accounting and statistics advised.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredCurrent full-time employment related to healthcare at application and throughout the program.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredMinimum of three years of full-time experience in the healthcare field (years).
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredTwo-page, double-spaced personal statement.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommenders.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalSelected applicants are invited to a virtual interview.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational applicants submit a Financial Certificate and TOEFL or IELTS scores no more than 2 years old.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredScores are not reviewed if submitted.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students; TOEFL or IELTS no more than 2 years old.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 8, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Health Policy and Management Distance Ed (mhahpmx), NC resident, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,146.12per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$56,159.88 = 49 credits × $1,146.12 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Health Policy and Management Distance Ed (mhahpmx), non-resident, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$2,140.56per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$104,887.44 = 49 credits × $2,140.56 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $104,887.44 (49 credits × $2,140.56 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Health Policy and Management Distance Ed (mhahpmx), non-resident, per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Healthcare AdministrationHealthcare Administration, Executive Master's Program (M.H.A., Online)CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside North Carolina.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cashier.unc.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/259/2026/04/graduate-and-professional-tuition-and-fees-fall — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.unc.edu/graduate/schools-departments/health-policy-management/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-deadlines/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-degrees-and-certificates/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-executivemha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Appalachian State University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA) – Online

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Boone, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: two years full-time; three years part-time (Full-time completes in two years; part-time in three years.) · 46 credits
Tuition: $344.21 per credit · Online students — App State Online graduate, NC Resident, total per credit hour (before MHA differential) · Fall 2026/Spring 202Est. total tuition $15,833.66 (46 credits × $344.21 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: Winston-Salem, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: internship
View Program
University of North Carolina Wilmington logo

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Master of Healthcare Administration

Master of Healthcare Administration Online

Master'sMHA
Location: Wilmington, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 48 credits
Tuition: $17,033 entire program · Resident (in-state) — MHA (in-state residents) – estimated total tuition & fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 12, 2026 · Spring 1 2027 (starts 1/11/27)
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.