Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Department of Health Policy and Management

Health Policy and Management Major, B.S.P.H.

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Public Health

Bachelor'sBSPHDedicated degreeFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

An upper-division BSPH major in Health Policy and Management that students typically enter in the fall of their junior year, with an eight-week summer internship and a year-long capstone. Admission to the major is required.

Official program name
Health Policy and Management Major, B.S.P.H.
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Public Health
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Chapel Hill, NC
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. High school seniors may enter through the Assured Enrollment program.Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Transfer students apply through the Office of Undergraduate Admissions using the Transfer Common application.Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

The official major is Health Policy and Management; the curriculum covers health organization leadership, management and financial management. Awarded degree is the BSPH.

Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Eight-week internship in the summer between junior and senior year (HPM 593).

    Published hours:
    8 weeks
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

Other

  • About 45 students admitted per year; students progress as a cohort.
    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prerequisite courses
RequiredPrerequisite courses required for admission: biology with lab, introductory economics, statistics and a mathematics course.
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

Field training fee for HPM 593 internship
$400 per courseMandatory
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.unc.edu/undergraduate/programs-study/health-policy-management-major-bsph/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-degrees-and-certificates/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-degrees-and-certificates/bachelor-of-science-in-public-health-bsph/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

East Carolina University logo

East Carolina University

Bachelor of Science

Bachelor of Science in Health Services Management

Bachelor'sBS AUPHA certifiedTransfer entryDegree completion
Location: Greenville, NC
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (160 hours)
View Program
University of North Carolina at Charlotte logo

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Bachelor of Science in Health Systems Management

Bachelor of Science in Health Systems Management (main campus)

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Charlotte, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 4 years; HSMT core courses completed in 3 to 6 semesters · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.