Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
East Carolina University logo

East Carolina University · Department of Health Services and Information Management

Bachelor of Science in Health Services Management

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degree AUPHA certifiedTransfer entryDegree completion

Overview

An AUPHA-certified Bachelor of Science in Health Services Management with two concentrations, one for traditional students and one for credentialed practitioners. Students apply to the major after completing at least 33 hours of foundations and prerequisite courses; classes are a combination of online and face-to-face, and seniors complete a 160-hour spring internship.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Health Services Management
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Greenville, NC
Specializations
Health Services Management Concentration · Allied Health Management Concentration
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Minimum of 120 semester hours, 60 at ECU
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Two concentrations: Health Services Management (traditional students) and Allied Health Management (working, credentialed practitioners).

How students enter this degree

  • Transfer entry. Transfer students must first be admitted to East Carolina UniversitySource: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Degree completion program. Allied Health Management concentration for credentialed practitioners; up to 30 semester hours of credit for associate-degree discipline trainingSource: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

This is a degree-completion route: it is not a standard first-year admission option.

Why this program is listed

Bachelor of Science with a major in Health Services Management.

Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    160-hour internship in the senior year; criminal background checks required

    Published hours:
    160 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Internship

  • Real-world internship in the spring of the senior year
    Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior college credits
RequiredAt least 33 hours of foundations curriculum and prerequisite courses before entering the program
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — Minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredGrade of C or better in prerequisites including human physiology and anatomy, statistics, medical terminology, college algebra and microeconomics
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCriminal background checks are required to complete the internship
Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) — certification: certifiedProgram covered: Bachelor of ScienceAUPHA certification is a peer-reviewed undergraduate certification, not accreditation. About AUPHA certificationSource: hsim.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. hsim.ecu.edu/undergraduate/health-services-management/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. hsim.ecu.edu/undergraduate/health-services-management/hsm-admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. hsim.ecu.edu/undergraduate/health-services-management/hsm-degree-requirements/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Charlotte logo

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Bachelor of Science in Health Systems Management

Bachelor of Science in Health Systems Management (main campus)

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Charlotte, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 4 years; HSMT core courses completed in 3 to 6 semesters · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Bachelor of Science in Public Health

Health Policy and Management Major, B.S.P.H.

Bachelor'sBSPHFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with East Carolina University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.