Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
East Carolina University logo

East Carolina University · Department of Public Health

Master of Public Health – Health Policy, Administration & Leadership (HPAL)

Awarded degree: Master of Public Health — Health Policy, Administration & Leadership (HPAL)

Master'sMPHMPH pathway

Overview

A 42-semester-hour, fully online, CEPH-accredited MPH whose Health Policy, Administration & Leadership concentration covers health economics, health policy, strategic and financial management, and human resource management. The concentration includes an applied practice experience and an integrative learning experience, and offers a long-term care administration sub-specialty.

Official program name
Master of Public Health – Health Policy, Administration & Leadership (HPAL)
Awarded degree
Master of Public Health
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
MPH with a health management pathwayNamed option: Health Policy, Administration & Leadership (HPAL)A Master of Public Health with an officially named health policy and management or health administration concentration. The awarded degree is the MPH.
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Greenville, NCWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Long-Term Care Administration (sub-specialty)
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
42 semester hours
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MPH with an officially named Health Policy, Administration & Leadership concentration.

Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    Applied Practice Experience (field placement), at least 90 but less than 240 hours depending on concentration

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • HPAL concentration: 18 semester hours plus a 6-semester-hour capstone (applied practice experience and integrative learning experience)
    Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredLetter of intent (essay) via SOPHAS
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation from an academic advisor, professor and/or supervisor
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/curriculum vitae
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredTwo-step application: SOPHAS, then the ECU Graduate School
Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Distance Education Graduate Resident, Fall 2026, 1 hour tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$277.06per credit · Fall 2026Estimated tuition$11,636.52 = 42 credits × $277.06 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: financialservices.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Distance Education Graduate Non-Resident, Fall 2026, 1 hour tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,044.06per credit · Fall 2026Estimated tuition$43,850.52 = 42 credits × $1,044.06 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: financialservices.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $43,850.52 (42 credits × $1,044.06 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Distance Education Graduate Non-Resident, Fall 2026, 1 hour tuition, Fall 2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

DE Educational/Technology Fee (1 hour)
$25.17 per creditMandatory
Source: financialservices.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Public HealthMPH and DrPHSource: public-health.ecu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside North Carolina.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. financialservices.ecu.edu/distance-education-tuition-fees-for-fall-2026-grad-non-res/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. financialservices.ecu.edu/distance-education-tuition-fees-for-fall-2026-grad-res/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. public-health.ecu.edu/accreditation/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. public-health.ecu.edu/mph-concentrations/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. public-health.ecu.edu/mph-curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. public-health.ecu.edu/public-health-admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Master of Healthcare Administration

Executive Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, in-person class sessions · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years · 49 credits
Tuition: $1,146.12 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Health Policy and Management Distance Ed (mhahpmx), NC resident, per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $104,887.44 (49 credits × $2,140.56 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: June 8, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Appalachian State University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA) – Online

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Boone, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: two years full-time; three years part-time (Full-time completes in two years; part-time in three years.) · 46 credits
Tuition: $344.21 per credit · Online students — App State Online graduate, NC Resident, total per credit hour (before MHA differential) · Fall 2026/Spring 202Est. total tuition $15,833.66 (46 credits × $344.21 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: Winston-Salem, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: internship
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with East Carolina University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.