Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Department of Health Policy and Management

Residential Master of Healthcare Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A two-year, 60-credit-hour residential MHA in Chapel Hill with a summer internship between the first and second years and an applied capstone. The catalog states that the M.H.A. program is CAHME accredited.

Official program name
Residential Master of Healthcare Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Chapel Hill, NC
Required credits
Minimum 60 credit hours
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2 years
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The Executive MHA (online with on-campus sessions) is a separate program with its own curriculum and deadline (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is the MHA (catalog: Healthcare Administration, Master's Program (M.H.A.)).

Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Summer internship between the first and second years (HPM 793, part of the core).

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Applied capstone experience in the second year.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Core courses include health law, health economics, human resources, strategy and marketing, accounting, finance, reimbursement, quality and information management and operations research, plus 11 elective credit hours.
    Source: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedBasic knowledge of statistics, microeconomics and accounting recommended.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RecommendedPreference given to applicants with work experience in a health-related setting.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredTwo-page double-spaced personal statement.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation (academic and/or professional).
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalSelected applicants are contacted for virtual interviews.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$95 — $95 Graduate School application fee.
Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Fall 2027

    Source: sph.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Master of Healthcare Administration (PHMHA), NC resident, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,146.12per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$68,767.20 = 60 credits × $1,146.12 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Master of Healthcare Administration (PHMHA), NC resident, semester maximum (9+ hours)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$10,315per semester · 2026-2027Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Master of Healthcare Administration (PHMHA), non-resident, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$2,140.56per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$128,433.60 = 60 credits × $2,140.56 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Master of Healthcare Administration (PHMHA), non-resident, semester maximum (9+ hours)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$19,265per semester · 2026-2027Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $128,433.60 (60 credits × $2,140.56 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Master of Healthcare Administration (PHMHA), non-resident, per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Campus-based fees (per semester, 2026-2027 table)
$1,063 per semesterMandatory
Source: cashier.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Healthcare AdministrationHealthcare Administration, Master's Program (M.H.A.)CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: catalog.unc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cashier.unc.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/259/2026/04/graduate-and-professional-tuition-and-fees-fall — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.unc.edu/graduate/schools-departments/health-policy-management/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-deadlines/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-degrees-and-certificates/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. sph.unc.edu/hpm/hpm-residentialmha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. sph.unc.edu/hpm/mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Charlotte logo

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Health Administration, MHA, and Business Administration, MBA, Dual Degree

Master'sMHAJoint degree
Location: Charlotte, NC
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: Charlotte, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Two-, three- and four-year plans of study available (Depends on the plan of study chosen) · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (160 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.