Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of North Carolina at Charlotte logo

University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Department of Health Management and Policy

Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 51-credit, CAHME-accredited Master of Health Administration with core classes on weekday evenings or Saturday mornings at the main campus (some at Center City), a required administrative internship of at least 160 hours, and two-, three- and four-year plans of study. Applications for summer/fall entry are due February 15.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: online.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Charlotte, NC
Required credits
51 credit hours (45 core including a 3-credit internship, 6 elective)
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two-, three- and four-year plans of study available (Depends on the plan of study chosen)
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer, Fall
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • In-person class sessions Required

    Core classes typically meet on weekday evenings (5:30-8:15 p.m.) or Saturday mornings at the main campus; some classes at the Center City campus

    weekday evenings or Saturday mornings · Charlotte, NC

    Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Minimum 160 hours of administrative internship experience during the HADM 6400 Internship course (typically summer).

    Published hours:
    160 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Waiver:
    Highly experienced health care managers concurrently employed at a senior level may substitute three hours of prescribed graduate coursework with advance approval from the Program Director.
    Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year degree (or equivalent) from a regionally or nationally accredited institution; any major
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Competitive applicants should have an undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher (3.5 for Early Entry)
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Not requiredNo specific undergraduate coursework required; accounting may be helpful
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
Not requiredWork experience is not a requirement
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose (no length limit; about two pages usually sufficient)
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredApplicants may choose to send GRE scores.
Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 15 (applications received by May 1 considered on a space-available basis) · for Summer/Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: hmp.charlotte.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. hmp.charlotte.edu/academic-programs/graduate-programs/master-health-administration-mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. hmp.charlotte.edu/academic-programs/graduate-programs/master-health-administration-mha/mha-faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. hmp.charlotte.edu/academic-programs/graduate-programs/master-health-administration-mha/paying-gradua — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. hmp.charlotte.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/1273/2025/08/MHA_Student_Handbook_2025-2026.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.charlotte.edu/hsmt — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Master of Health Administration and Master of Science in Library Science

Dual Master of Health Administration and Master of Science in Library Science (MHA-MSLS)

Master'sMHA/MSLSJoint degree
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 3 years · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Master of Healthcare Administration and Master of Business Administration

Dual Master of Healthcare Administration and Master of Business Administration (MHA-MBA)

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degree
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 3 years · 96 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Master of Healthcare Administration and Master of City and Regional Planning

Dual Master of Healthcare Administration and Master of City and Regional Planning (MHA-MCRP)

Master'sMHA/MCRPJoint degree
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 3 years · 81 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.