Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
George Washington University logo

George Washington University · Department of Health Policy and Management

Master of Health Administration (MHA@GW)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 45-credit online MHA for working health sector professionals, delivered in 10-week online modules with required in-person immersions, ending in an Organizational Research Project. The school states that MHA@GW is accredited by CAHME.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration (MHA@GW)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Washington, DCWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
45 credits, including 5 credits in immersion experiences
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
As few as 24 months (accelerated pathway); standard 30 months; decelerated up to 48 months (24 months on the accelerated pathway)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
January, September
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The residential MHA is a separate program with its own curriculum (separate record). The online program offers accelerated (24 months), standard (30 months) and decelerated (up to 48 months) pacing.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration (online format, MHA@GW).

Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Not required

    No traditional internship requirement.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Organizational Research Project (ORP) as the culminating experience.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited university.
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredB or better in undergraduate financial accounting and introductory statistics; may be completed after acceptance through program-offered methods.
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredAt least two years of full-time health sector experience or three years of full-time experience in any industry (years).
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredApplicants must currently be employed in the health sector; those with less than two years of experience must pass an online examination before enrolling.
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation written within one year of submission.
Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 nonrefundable application fee; may be waived for applications submitted by the priority deadline.
Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$2,000per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$90,000 = 45 credits × $2,000 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Estimated total tuition (45 credits)$90,000entire program · 2026-2027Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $90,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Estimated total tuition (45 credits), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Immersion fees and travel (not included in tuition; amount not printed)
Amount not stated
Source: onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationMHA@GW (online)CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: publichealth.gwu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington, DC.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.gwu.edu/public-health/health-policy-management/mha-online-executive-program/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu/mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu/mha/admissions/applications/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. onlinepublichealth.gwu.edu/mha/financing-degree/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. publichealth.gwu.edu/mha-online — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Washington, DC first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration (MHSA)

Master'sMS CAHME accredited
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency, capstone presentation · Part-time
Duration: 21 months · 42 credits
Tuition: $92,652 entire program · All students — Estimated total program cost, 2027–2028 academic year (before the 40% MHSA scholarship) · 2027-2028
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project, practical requirement
View Program
Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with George Washington University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.