Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University · Georgetown University School of Health

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration (MHSA)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Master'sMSDedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 42-credit, 21-month cohort program for early- to mid-career health care professionals, delivered mainly through synchronous online evening courses with four required weeklong on-campus intensives in Washington, D.C.; a three-term integrative seminar project ends in a live presentation at the final intensive.

Official program name
Master of Science in Health Systems Administration (MHSA)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Systems Administration
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Washington, DCWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
42 credit hours
Source: grad.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
21 months
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

An accelerated 4+1 pathway for Georgetown undergraduates is recorded separately.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Systems Administration.

Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Required

    Four weeklong on-campus intensives (Fall I, Spring I, Fall II, Spring II)

    four weeklong sessions · Capitol Campus, Washington, DC

    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Capstone presentation Required

    Live presentation of the integrative seminar project during the final on-campus intensive

    once · Washington, DC

    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Orientation Not verified

    Virtual orientation session before the start of the term

    once

    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Integrative Seminar series across three terms: competency-based experiential project developed with health care organizations, ending in a strategic, marketing or business plan

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Practical requirement Required

    Experiential projects are built around the student's current employment

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Can be completed with the student's employer
    Near the student's home:
    Yes, as stated
    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Cumulative undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, unless there are extenuating circumstances
Source: grad.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedNo prerequisites; financial accounting course and advanced Excel skills strongly recommended
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredFull-time work experience required; promising applicants typically have 1–5 years in the healthcare sector
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation; statement of purpose; video essay; transcripts; resume/CV
Source: grad.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational degrees evaluated by WES; the program does not sponsor student visas
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalProgram FAQ: no standardized tests are required
Source: grad.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100If first language is not English; 100 (original iBT scale) or 5 (new scale from Jan. 21, 2026); waived for English-medium bachelor's
Source: grad.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7Alternative to TOEFL if applicable
Source: grad.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 15 (priority; also priority consideration for departmental scholarships)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    June 1

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Estimated total program cost, 2027–2028 academic year (before the 40% MHSA scholarship)$92,652entire program · 2027-2028Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $92,652 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Estimated total program cost, 2027–2028 academic year (before the 40% MHSA scholarship), 2027-2028. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Travel to and from on-campus intensives (not included in tuition)
Amount not statedMandatory
Source: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health Systems AdministrationMost recently accredited in 2025CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: health.georgetown.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington, DC.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. grad.georgetown.edu/health-systems-administration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. health.georgetown.edu/academic-programs/masters/master-of-science-health-systems-administration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. health.georgetown.edu/academic-programs/masters/master-of-science-health-systems-administration/freq — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. health.georgetown.edu/academic-programs/masters/master-of-science-health-systems-administration/mhsa — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Washington, DC first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

George Washington University logo

George Washington University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA@GW)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: immersion · Full-time or part-time
Duration: As few as 24 months (accelerated pathway); standard 30 months; decelerated up to 48 months (24 months on the accelerated pathway) · 45 credits
Tuition: $2,000 per credit · All students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 5, 2026 · January 2027
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Georgetown University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.