Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Pennsylvania State University logo

Pennsylvania State University · Department of Health Policy and Administration

Master of Health Administration in Health Policy and Administration (Online, World Campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 49-credit online MHA completed by a fall cohort over seven continuous semesters (about 28 months), with an online orientation, a week-long August onboarding intensive and a capstone intensive with an in-person presentation at University Park. Priority consideration goes to applicants with three or more years of full-time professional experience.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration in Health Policy and Administration (Online, World Campus)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
University Park, PAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
49 credits (17 courses)
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
seven continuous semesters, designed to be completed within 28 months
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration, online through World Campus.

Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    Online orientation in July before the first semester

    once · Online

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Immersion Required

    Week-long in-person August Onboarding Intensive, including a three-credit course

    once, at program start

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Capstone presentation Required

    Capstone Management Intensive; final project presentation delivered in person at University Park in the last semester

    once, final semester · University Park, PA

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.

Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited US institution or comparable degree
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0 preferred
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedPriority consideration for three or more years of full-time professional work experience (preferably in health care)
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (up to 1,000 words) and two essays (up to 500 words each)
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two references from professional peers, managers or supervisors
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume (one to two pages)
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalZoom interview for candidates above the written-application threshold
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    May 1 (start August 23) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — 11 or fewer credits per semester$1,048per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$51,352 = 49 credits × $1,048 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — 12 or more credits per semester (flat)$12,572per semester · 2026-2027Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — 11 or fewer credits per semester$1,069per credit · 2027-2028Estimated tuition$52,381 = 49 credits × $1,069 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — 12 or more credits per semester (flat)$12,823per semester · 2027-2028Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $51,352 (49 credits × $1,048 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — 11 or fewer credits per semester, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationOnline MHACAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Pennsylvania.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/visit-and-apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. worldcampus.psu.edu/degrees-and-certificates/penn-state-online-health-policy-and-administration-mast — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Scranton, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 2.5 years
Tuition: $965 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Pennsylvania State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.