Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Pennsylvania State University logo

Pennsylvania State University · Department of Health Policy and Administration

Master of Health Administration (Residential)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 49-credit residential MHA at University Park taught in a cohort of 15-20 students, completed full time in 21 months, with a 10-week residency between the first and second years, a weekly embedded practice experience with Mount Nittany Physician Group and a consulting-style capstone. GRE/GMAT scores are not required.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration (Residential)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: bulletins.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
University Park, PA
Required credits
49 credits, at least 39 at the 500- or 800-level
Source: bulletins.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
21 months full time (Full-time study)
Source: bulletins.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The online World Campus MHA is recorded separately.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: bulletins.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: bulletins.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    10-week residency between the first and second years; students are placed with health care organizations

    Published hours:
    10 weeks
    Placement:
    Placement arranged by the program
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Final-semester capstone in which partner organizations engage student teams as consultants

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arranged by the program
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Practical requirement Required

    Interprofessional Experiential Capstone (HPA 897): one day a week at a Mount Nittany Physician Group practice over three semesters

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arranged by the program
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.0 preferred (bulletin: junior/senior GPA of 3.00 or better)
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedSome work experience in health care preferred, not required
Source: bulletins.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (up to 1,000 words) and essay (up to 500 words)
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalZoom interview at the admissions committee's request
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Scholarship deadline

    January 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationResidential MHACAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: hhd.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletins.psu.edu/graduate/programs/majors/health-policy-administration/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/master-health-administration-program-mha/courses — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/master-health-administration-program-mha/online-master-health-administratio — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/master-health-administration-program-mha/program-overview — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/master-health-administration-program-mha/tuition-and-financial-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/mha/admissions-process — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. hhd.psu.edu/hpa/graduate/visit-and-apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Scranton logo

University of Scranton

Master of Business Administration and Master of Health Administration

Dual Degree: MBA / MHA - Business and Health Administration

Master'sMBA/MHAJoint degree
Location: Scranton, PA
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: 2.5 years
Tuition: $965 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Pennsylvania State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.