Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Cornell University logo

Cornell University · Sloan Program in Health Administration, Brooks School of Public Policy

Sloan Executive Master of Health Administration (EMHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degreeExecutive CAHME accredited

Overview

A part-time, 18-month, 36.5-credit cohort program for working health care professionals with at least five years of experience; about 80% of learning is online, with two week-long sessions in Ithaca and one weekend session in Boston, and a capstone project within the student's organization.

Official program name
Sloan Executive Master of Health Administration (EMHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Executive pathwayDesigned for working healthcare professionals, usually with a published work or management experience requirement. Executive describes who the program is for, not how it is delivered.
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Ithaca, NYWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
36.5 credits
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Part-time, 18 months (standard 18-month program; students who extend pay additional costs)
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

International applicants without a visa permitting travel to Ithaca may join the intensive sessions synchronously online.

Why this program is listed

Catalog lists the program as Executive Health Administration (MHA); an executive Master of Health Administration.

Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Required

    Two week-long residencies in Ithaca

    two week-long sessions · Ithaca, NY

    Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • On-campus residency Required

    One weekend residency in Boston

    one weekend session · Boston, MA

    Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Capstone project guided by executive mentors, applied to a strategic project within the student's own organization

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Can be completed with the student's employer
    Near the student's home:
    Yes, as stated
    Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution or international equivalent
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
Not requiredNo minimum GPA cut-off
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredResume demonstrating at least 5 years of professional work experience
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose, 500 words maximum
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters, one from the current manager
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
Required30-minute online interview via Zoom
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$105 — $105 application fee
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredApplicants who would need immigration status and sponsorship to enter the US are not eligible
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — EMHA tuition for new students starting in Summer 2026 (flat rate, standard 18-month program)$93,316entire program · 2026-2027Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Per term (five terms, Summer 2026 to Fall 2027)$18,663per term · 2026-2027Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $93,316 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — EMHA tuition for new students starting in Summer 2026 (flat rate, standard 18-month program), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Application fee
$105 entire programMandatory
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Non-refundable admission deposit, credited toward first-semester tuition
$750 entire programMandatory
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Accommodations for on-campus sessions and Boston session at student's expense
Amount not statedMandatory
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside New York.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. courses.cornell.edu/programs/emha/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/emha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/emha/apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/emha/apply/who-should-apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/emha/costs-and-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/emha/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

New York University logo

New York University

Master of Health Administration

Online Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: New York, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: immersion · Part-time
Duration: 28 months (7 terms), part-time · 45 credits
Tuition: $2,591 per credit · Online students — Cost per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Cornell University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.