Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Cornell University logo

Cornell University · Sloan Program in Health Administration, Brooks School of Public Policy

Sloan Master of Health Administration (Residential MHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 64-credit, full-time residential MHA completed over two academic years in Ithaca, with a required 10-week summer internship and a year-long second-year capstone project for a health care organization.

Official program name
Sloan Master of Health Administration (Residential MHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Ithaca, NY
Required credits
64 credits
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
two academic years (full-time)
Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Cornell also offers a separate hybrid Executive MHA (recorded separately) and a five-year BS/MHA path for Cornell undergraduates.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    10-week internship in the summer between the first and second years

    Published hours:
    10 weeks
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Year-long second-year capstone project for a health care organization, in teams of three to four

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Capstone courses PUBPOL 5951 and PUBPOL 5952 (Field Studies in Health Administration and Planning I and II)
    Source: courses.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution or international equivalent
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
Not requiredNo minimum GPA cut-off; coursework and grades are considered
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
Not requiredProfessional experience welcomed but not required
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose, 750 words maximum
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two academic or professional letters of recommendation
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredRecorded online video interview after application submission
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredProof of English-language proficiency for international applicants
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE/GMAT not required and not considered
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GMAT
Not requiredGRE/GMAT not required and not considered
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    October 1 (Priority Deadline)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    January 1

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    March 15

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Total Tuition and Fees (2026-2027)$48,414per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Student Activity Fee
$110 per academic yearMandatory
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Student Health Fee
$580 per academic yearMandatory
Source: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: publicpolicy.cornell.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. courses.cornell.edu/programs/emha/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. courses.cornell.edu/programs/health-administration-mha/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/mha/apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/mha/costs-and-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/mha/costs-and-aid/financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. publicpolicy.cornell.edu/masters/sloan/mha/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Columbia University logo

Columbia University

Master of Health Administration

Executive Healthcare Management Program (Executive MHA)

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Part-time
Duration: 24 months · 45 credits
Tuition: $49,890 per academic year · All students — Executive MHA/MPH, 2026-2027 tuition (across three semesters); estimate · 2026-2027
Next deadline: April 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

Master of Public Health — Executive Healthcare Management Program, MPH Track

Executive Healthcare Management Program (Executive MPH track)

Master'sMPHMPH pathwayExecutive
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Part-time
Duration: 24 months · 45 credits
Tuition: $49,890 per academic year · All students — Executive MHA/MPH, 2026-2027 tuition (across three semesters); estimate · 2026-2027
Next deadline: July 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

Master of Health Administration

Full-Time Health Management MHA Program

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Four semesters plus summer practicum over 2 years · 55.5 credits
Tuition: $49,888 per academic year · All students — MPH or MHA Full Time, 2026-2027 tuition (across two semesters); estimated pending Board of Trustees approval · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Required: practicum, applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Cornell University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.