
Columbia University · Department of Health Policy and Management
Full-Time Health Management MHA Program
Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration
Overview
A two-year, 55.5-credit full-time MHA in New York City with day and evening classes, a summer practicum, a consulting workshop for a client, a professional development curriculum and a culminating health system simulation.
- Official program name
- Full-Time Health Management MHA Program
- Awarded degree
- Master of Health AdministrationSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Program classification
- Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
- Pathway
- Standard pathway
- School
- Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Location
- New York, NY
- Required credits
- 55.5 creditsSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Duration
- Four semesters plus summer practicum over 2 yearsSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Start terms
- FallSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
The same MHA is also offered in part-time hybrid and executive formats (recorded separately).
Why this program is listed
Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration offered by the Department of Health Policy and Management.
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Campus attendance
- Regular campus attendance
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Full-timeSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Administrative residency, internship and practical experience
Practicum Required
Summer practicum between the first and second years
- Published hours:
- Not published
- Placement:
- Placement arrangement not stated
- Near the student's home:
- Not stated
Applied capstone project Required
Consulting Workshop course: student team develops a solution to a healthcare management challenge for a client
- Published hours:
- Not published
- Placement:
- Placement arranged by the program
- Near the student's home:
- Not stated
Curriculum
Capstone
- Culminating weekend Health System Simulation in the final semesterSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredUndergraduate degreeSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Work experience
- Not requiredFull-time work experience not required; prior internship or work experience helpfulSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation (Mailman School application requirement)Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Rolling
Final deadline
Rolling admission · for Fall 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026 - Year not printed
Priority deadline
December 1 (preferred deadline for most master's programs) · for Fall 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — MPH or MHA Full Time, 2026-2027 tuition (across two semesters); estimated pending Board of Trustees approvalFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level | $49,888 | per academic year · 2026-2027Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026 |
| All students — MPH or MHA Full Time, 2027-2028 tuition (across two semesters); anticipated 3% increaseFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level | $51,384 | per academic year · 2027-2028Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Estimated Program Fees (per year)
- $8,391 per academic yearMandatorySource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Funding
Funding classification: Funding not verified
We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.
Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Program accreditation and certification
- Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationManagement programs of the Department of Health Policy and ManagementCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
None recorded for this program.
International applicants
Not verified for this program.
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/about-us/our-vision-mission/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/degree-requirements/mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-health-administration/full-time — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-health-administration/program-comparison — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/become-student/how-apply/deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/become-student/how-apply/financial-aid/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
- publichealth.columbia.edu/become-student/how-apply/process/application-components — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Master of Public Health — Public Health Management
MPH in Public Health Management
Master of Health Administration
Sloan Master of Health Administration (Residential MHA)
Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Columbia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.