Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Columbia University logo

Columbia University · Department of Health Policy and Management

Part-Time Hybrid MHA

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 45.5-credit part-time cohort MHA over seven semesters for working professionals with at least one year of health-related experience; classes typically meet two evenings a week on campus or online, with a final-summer health system simulation weekend.

Official program name
Part-Time Hybrid MHA
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
New York, NY
Required credits
45.5 credits
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Seven semesters over 2.5 years
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Part-time cohort program leading to the Master of Health Administration.

Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • In-person class sessions Required

    Classes two evenings per week (sometimes three), on campus or online; some weekend electives

    two evenings per week · New York, NY

    Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Culminating Health System Simulation over one long weekend in the final summer

    once

    Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.

Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
RequiredAt least one year of experience in a health-related industry
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredVirtual interview via Zoom for applicants selected to advance
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredPart-time and executive students must be employed as a condition of admission
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalStandardized tests not required; applicants may submit scores
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — MHA Part Time, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 tuition estimate (about 19.5 credits across three semesters)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$42,486per academic year · 2026-2027Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — MHA Part Time, approximate total tuition (September 2026-December 2028 cost estimate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$101,270entire programSource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $101,270 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — MHA Part Time, approximate total tuition (September 2026-December 2028 cost estimate), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

HPM Part-time MHA Program Fee (per term: Fall, Spring, Summer)
$150 per termMandatory
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationExecutive Healthcare Management and Part-Time Hybrid Programs curriculumCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/degree-requirements/mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-health-administration/executive-program/admission — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-health-administration/program-comparison — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/part-time-hybrid-mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. publichealth.columbia.edu/become-student/how-apply/financial-aid/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. publichealth.columbia.edu/executive-healthcare-management-curriculum — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Cornell University logo

Cornell University

Master of Health Administration

Combined Five-Year BS/MHA

Master'sMHAAccelerated CAHME accredited
Location: Ithaca, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program
New York University logo

New York University

Master of Public Health — Public Health Management

MPH in Public Health Management

Master'sMPHMPH pathway
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 2 years full-time; 3-4 years part-time
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Cornell University logo

Cornell University

Master of Health Administration

Sloan Master of Health Administration (Residential MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Ithaca, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: two academic years (full-time) · 64 credits
Tuition: $48,414 per academic year · All students — Total Tuition and Fees (2026-2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship, applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Columbia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.