Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Saint Louis University · Department of Health Management and Policy

Health Administration, M.S.

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Administration

Master'sMSDedicated degree

Overview

A 39-credit online M.S. in Health Administration with six core and seven elective courses in six-week terms, completed in about 16 months or as few as 12. An optional 1-2 credit field experience is available; no internship is required.

Official program name
Health Administration, M.S.
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Administration
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Saint Louis, MOWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
39 credit hours (six core courses and seven elective courses)
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Approximately 16 months at the standard pace; as few as 12 months taking two courses at a time (12 months requires taking two courses concurrently)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an M.S. in Health Administration.

Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Field experience Optional

    Optional 1-2 credit field experience, identified with the faculty advisor; no internship or fellowship required.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Courses run in an accelerated six-week structure, typically one course at a time.
    Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree (applicants with a 3.0 GPA or better see more success).
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation; can be waived for professionals with 5+ years of experience.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or curriculum vitae.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplication through SOPHAS or HAMPCAS.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80International applicants; internet-based TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, PTE 54 or Duolingo 110 listed as examples.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition Total Program Cost$42,000entire programSource: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $42,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Tuition Total Program Cost, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Merit-based scholarships ScholarshipCompetitive

    Eligibility: Limited number.

    Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health AdministrationCollege for Public Health and Social JusticeSource: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Missouri.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. slu.edu/public-health-social-justice/programs/health-administration/health-adminstration-ms.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Missouri first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Saint Louis University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.