Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Saint Louis University · Department of Health Management and Policy

Health Administration, M.H.A.

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 60-credit, two-year residential M.H.A. built on a competency model, with a 10-week full-time summer internship between the first and second years and a case-based culminating experience. The university states that the M.H.A. is accredited by CAHME.

Official program name
Health Administration, M.H.A.
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Required credits
60 total credits
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two-year curriculum
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The online M.S. in Health Administration is a different degree (separate record). An accelerated B.S. in Health Management (or B.S. in Health Sciences) to M.H.A. option exists.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    10-week, full-time summer internship between the first and second years, with placements nationwide.

    Published hours:
    10 weeks
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Culminating experience: students analyze a health care business case and present a proposal to a panel.
    Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • A certificate in health care quality and performance excellence can be earned at no additional cost.
    Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Preferably a 3.00 grade point average.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredProfessional goal statement.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/curriculum vitae.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview; on-campus preferred, phone or Zoom available when travel is not feasible.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplication form and fee through HAMPCAS.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition Total Program Cost$59,000entire programSource: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $59,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Tuition Total Program Cost, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Merit-based scholarships and public health scholar positions ScholarshipCompetitive

    Eligibility: Limited number; awarded to the strongest candidates who complete applications by the priority deadlines.

    Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationMaster of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCollege for Public Health and Social JusticeSource: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Missouri first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Missouri logo

University of Missouri

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Dual Degree MHA in Health Administration and MBA in Business Administration

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degree
Location: Columbia, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Three years · 70.5 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of Missouri logo

University of Missouri

Master of Health Administration and Master of Public Affairs

Dual Degree MHA in Health Administration and MPA in Public Affairs

Master'sMHA/MPAJoint degree
Location: Columbia, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Three years · 69 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
University of Missouri logo

University of Missouri

Master of Health Administration

Residential Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Columbia, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 24 months · 54 credits
Tuition: $634 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Missouri resident tuition · 2025-2026
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Required: internship, applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Saint Louis University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.