Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Missouri logo

University of Missouri · Department of Health Sciences

Residential Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A full-time, on-campus MHA of 54 credit hours completed over 24 months, including a required 12-week summer administrative internship and an Executive Management Study group capstone with a client organization. The program states continuous CAHME accreditation since 1968; applications are reviewed on a rolling basis with priority dates of March 1 (fall) and December 1 (spring).

Official program name
Residential Master of Health Administration (MHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Columbia, MO
Required credits
54 credit hours
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
24 months
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

An accelerated BHS in Health Science/MHA pathway lets Mizzou Health Science majors start MHA coursework during the bachelor's degree (five years total). The executive (hybrid) MHA is not currently accepting applications and is listed under excluded.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    12-week administrative internship in the summer between the first and second year, at an approved health organization under a preceptor; the executive-in-residence works with students on placement.

    Published hours:
    12 weeks
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    Executive Management Study (EMS): a second-year capstone group project for an assigned client organization, presented by all students.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arranged by the program
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 39 hours of core coursework, a 3-credit summer internship, a 3-credit capstone group management project, and 9 credit hours of professional electives; microeconomics is a prerequisite.
    Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accelerated options

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA in the last 60 credit hours
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredMicroeconomics prerequisite (prior coursework or free online module)
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal essay on professional plans, interest in health administration and challenging issues in health care
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: catalog.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredUpdated resume or curriculum vitae
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalApplicants may be invited to an online (Zoom) interview with two admissions committee members
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100International applicants only; IELTS 7.0 or Duolingo 120 also accepted.
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall (August start)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring (January start)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Missouri resident tuition$634per credit · 2025-2026Estimated tuition$34,236 = 54 credits × $634 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident tuition$1,460.90per credit · 2025-2026Estimated tuition$78,888.60 = 54 credits × $1,460.90 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Total tuition and fees for two-year program, Domestic MO Resident, no insurance$36,435.30entire program · 2025-2026Includes feesSource: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Total tuition and fees for two-year program, Domestic Non-Resident, no insurance$81,087.90entire program · 2025-2026Includes feesSource: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Total tuition and fees for two-year program, International Student$87,087.20entire program · 2025-2026Includes feesSource: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $81,087.90 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Total tuition and fees for two-year program, Domestic Non-Resident, no insurance, 2025-2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Student Health fee
$111.10 per semesterMandatory
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recreation Facility fee
$191.10 per semesterMandatory
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Student Activity fee
$28.30 per creditMandatory
Source: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationTraditional, on-campus MHA programCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: healthsciences.missouri.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.missouri.edu/collegeofhealthsciences/healthadministration/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.missouri.edu/collegeofhealthsciences/healthadministration/mha-health-administration/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. healthsciences.missouri.edu/health-sciences/masters-degree/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. healthsciences.missouri.edu/health-sciences/masters-degree/mha-admission-and-application/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. healthsciences.missouri.edu/health-sciences/masters-degree/residential-mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Missouri first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Saint Louis University

Master of Health Administration

Health Administration, M.H.A.

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two-year curriculum · 60 credits
Tuition: $59,000 entire program · All students — Tuition Total Program Cost · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program

Saint Louis University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Health Administration, M.H.A. and Business Administration, MBA Dual Degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degree
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Saint Louis University

Juris Doctor and Master of Health Administration

Law, J.D. and Health Administration, M.H.A. Dual Degree

Master'sJD/MHAJoint degree
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Roughly four years · 125 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Missouri. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.