Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 43-credit-hour online MHA with in-state tuition regardless of residency, some synchronous hours in select courses, a comprehensive exam and a 3-credit practicum that can be completed in the student's state of residency. The program holds CAHME candidacy status.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Location
Wichita, KSWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
43 credit hours (37 core, 3 elective, 3 practicum)
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, immersion or on-campus session must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    PHS 819 MHA Practicum (3 credit hours) with an applied learning project; can be completed in the student's state of residency.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Yes, as stated
    Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RecommendedPreference for an undergraduate degree in health management, business, clinical profession or related field
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Minimum overall GPA of 2.750 or 2.750 in the last 60 credit hours; 3.000 preferred; probationary admission possible.
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredEssay of 500 words or less
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional references
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7For non-native English speakers without an undergraduate education in an English-speaking country; IELTS or TOEFL.
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 88Internet-based; IELTS accepted instead.
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    July 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    April 15 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Basic Fees: Graduate Tuition, Resident (online majors are charged the resident rate per footnote 1)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$350.73per credit · 2025-2026Estimated tuition$15,081.39 = 43 credits × $350.73 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $15,081.39 (43 credits × $350.73 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Basic Fees: Graduate Tuition, Resident (online majors are charged the resident rate per footnote 1), 2025-2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Campus Infrastructure & Support Fee - all students
$20.58 per creditMandatory
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Acceptance fee upon enrollment
$100 entire programMandatory
Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationInitially accredited at the CAHME Board of Directors meeting of May 19, 2026 (CAHME Spring 2026 accreditation actions); the university catalog still describes candidacy.CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: cahme.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Kansas.

International applicants

  • Most international students residing in their home country can complete the online degree; in-state tuition regardless of residency.Source: catalog.wichita.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cahme.org/accreditation/accreditation-actions/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.wichita.edu/graduate/financial-information/tuition-fees/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.wichita.edu/graduate/health-professions/health-sciences/public-health-sciences/master-health — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Kansas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program
University of Minnesota logo

University of Minnesota

Master of Public Health — Public Health Administration & Policy (Distance)

Distance Public Health Administration & Policy MPH

Master'sMPHMPH pathway
Location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: As little as 21 months (full-time students) (Full-time enrollment.)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Wichita State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.