Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Indiana University Indianapolis logo

Indiana University Indianapolis · Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health

IU Online Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree No campus visits CAHME accredited

Overview

The 100% online MHA uses asynchronous eight-week courses with multiple start dates a year and the same 42-credit curriculum as the in-person format, including an internship and capstone. The program states that no in-person attendance is required.

Official program name
IU Online Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Indianapolis, INWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
42 credit hours
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Full-time 18 months; part-time 2-3 years (18 months applies to full-time study)
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
January, March, May, July, August, October
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same curriculum, faculty and admission criteria as the in-person MHA (separate record); accelerated 8-week sessions.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration (online format).

Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.All coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required campus visits (stated)No required campus visits (stated)
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Internship in Health Administration is one of the core classes.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Baccalaureate with a GPA of 3.0
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredUndergraduate microeconomics and accounting with a grade of C or better before the related MHA courses
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation (one from immediate supervisor or senior leader)
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students: TOEFL or IELTS
Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Multiple start dates

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — MHA online, Indiana residents, per credit hour (tuition only)$605.25per creditEstimated tuition$25,420.50 = 42 credits × $605.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA online, out-of-state residents, per credit hour (tuition only)$652.33per creditEstimated tuition$27,397.86 = 42 credits × $652.33 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $27,397.86 (42 credits × $652.33 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA online, out-of-state residents, per credit hour (tuition only), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: online.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Indiana.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu/academics/masters/mha/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu/academics/undergraduate/bsha/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu/admissions/tuition/index.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.iu.edu/degrees/health-administration-mha.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Purdue University Global

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Health Care Administration

Master's in Nursing (MSN) + Master of Health Care Administration (MHCA)

Master'sMSN/MHCAJoint degree
Location: West Lafayette, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 2 years average completion (Average, not a fixed program length.) · 74 credits
Tuition: $420 per credit · MSN courses · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program

Purdue University Global

Master of Health Care Administration

Online Master's Degree in Health Care Administration

Master'sMHCA CAHME accredited
Location: West Lafayette, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: 1.5 years average completion (Average, not a fixed program length.) · 52 credits
Tuition: $485 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $25,220 (52 credits × $485 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program
Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Indiana University Indianapolis. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.