Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Indiana University Indianapolis logo

Indiana University Indianapolis · Department of Health Policy & Management

Master of Health Administration (in-person)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

The in-person format of the Fairbanks School MHA is a 42-credit cohort program with mostly evening classes, a blend of in-person and online asynchronous courses, an internship and a capstone. It admits in fall only; full-time students can finish in 18 months.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration (in-person)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Required credits
14 courses, 42 credits
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Full-time 18 months; part-time 2-5 years (18 months applies to full-time study)
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same curriculum and faculty as the 100% online MHA (separate record); admission criteria identical. Students may switch format after accepting admission or once after matriculating.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • In-person class sessions Required

    Courses taken in person, with few exceptions; most in-person classes offered in the evening

    Indianapolis, IN

    Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    PBHL-H 702 Internship in Health Administration (3 credits), one of the 14 required courses.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Applied capstone project Required

    PBHL-H 623 Capstone in Health Administration (3 credits).

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Baccalaureate degree with an expected GPA of 3.0
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredUndergraduate microeconomics and accounting (grade C or better) or the MHA primer courses, before enrolling in H514 and H508
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (around 500 words is generally most effective)
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation from professional sources
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredRésumé or CV
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
Not verifiedEligible applicants may be invited to campus for an in-person interview; virtual interview on request
Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — MHA in person/hybrid, Indiana residents, per credit hour (tuition only)$605.25per creditEstimated tuition$25,420.50 = 42 credits × $605.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MHA in person/hybrid, Indiana Partners (Midwest Student Exchange states, Illinois, Michigan, Kentucky, Puerto Rico), per credit hour$907.88per creditEstimated tuition$38,130.96 = 42 credits × $907.88 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA in person/hybrid, out-of-state residents, per credit hour$1,468.50per creditEstimated tuition$61,677 = 42 credits × $1,468.50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $61,677 (42 credits × $1,468.50 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA in person/hybrid, out-of-state residents, per credit hour, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu/academics/masters/mha/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu/admissions/apply/mha.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. fairbanks.indianapolis.iu.edu/admissions/tuition/index.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Tulane University logo

Tulane University

Master of Health Administration

BS/MHA or BSM/MHA Accelerated Degrees

Master'sMHAAccelerated
Location: New Orleans, LA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Approximately 1 1/2 - 2 years following graduation (depends on credits per semester and residency timing) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Indiana University Indianapolis. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.