Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Seton Hall University logo

Seton Hall University · Department of Interprofessional Health Sciences and Health Administration

Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA) - Online/Hybrid

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 42-credit, 21-month cohort MHA with asynchronous online coursework in seven-week blocks and three required three-day in-person intensives in Nutley, New Jersey. A 3-credit capstone experience (internship, practicum, research seminar, project or international capstone) is required.

Official program name
Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA) - Online/Hybrid
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Seton Hall University — Department of Interprofessional Health Sciences and Health Administration
Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
South Orange, NJWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
42 credits
Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
21 months
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The on-campus MHA format shares the curriculum, but admission to it is paused; only the online/hybrid format accepts applicants.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Healthcare Administration.

Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Coursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Required campus residency or visitsIn-person attendance required
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus residency Required

    Three mandatory three-day intensives (usually Friday-Sunday) at the beginning, middle and conclusion of the program, on the Interprofessional Health Sciences campus in Nutley, New Jersey, and a nearby hotel/conference facility.

    three times (beginning, middle, conclusion) · Nutley, NJ

    Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Orientation Required

    Orientation Intensive (3 days in August) with in-person attendance.

    once · Nutley, NJ

    Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Capstone presentation Required

    Students present capstone projects at the Final Intensive.

    once · Nutley, NJ

    Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Applied capstone project Required

    A required 3-credit Applied Research and Practice (Capstone) experience; options are an internship/field placement, practicum, research seminar, capstone project or international capstone, depending on managerial experience.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Internship Optional

    Internship/field placement (HCAD 7991) is one of the capstone options.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

An online program can still require an internship or residency at a health organization. Confirm where it can be completed before you enroll. About administrative residencies

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Coursework covers strategic leadership, population health, healthcare data analytics, financial management, healthcare ethics and health policy.
    Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited college
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA on most recently conferred degree; applicants with 2.8-2.99 may be considered with professional healthcare experience.
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
Not requiredNo prerequisites or work experience required.
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of goals and career interests
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurriculum vitae or resume
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all undergraduate and graduate courses
Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 90If English is not the native language; internet-based score. Exception possible for U.S. residents who graduated from a U.S. college within the previous two years.
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Optional — minimum 6.5Accepted in place of TOEFL for non-native English speakers.
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalogue.shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$1,530per credit · 2025-2026Estimated tuition$64,260 = 42 credits × $1,530 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $64,260 (42 credits × $1,530 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, 2025-2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

University Fee (full time)
$215 per semesterMandatory
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Technology Fee (full time)
$495 per semesterMandatory
Source: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Healthcare AdministrationRe-accreditation for seven additional years effective June 2024; online/hybrid programCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: shu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside New Jersey.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalogue.shu.edu/graduate/school-health-medical-sciences/health-sciences-phd/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalogue.shu.edu/graduate/school-health-medical-sciences/master-healthcare-administration/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. shu.edu/academics/mha-online.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. shu.edu/interprofessional-health-sciences-administration/cost-master-healthcare-administration-degre — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. shu.edu/interprofessional-health-sciences-administration/mha-admissions.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. shu.edu/interprofessional-health-sciences-administration/mha-curriculum.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New Jersey first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Wichita State University logo

Wichita State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Management and Master of Health Administration

Accelerated BS in Health Management to Master of Health Administration

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Wichita, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Georgetown University logo

Georgetown University

Master of Science in Health Systems Administration

Accelerated MHSA 4+1 Pathway

Master'sMSAccelerated
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required campus visitsCoursework is online, with required in-person sessions such as an orientation, residency, immersion or on-campus presentation.Required in person: on-campus residency · Study intensity not published
Duration: 5 years – 4 undergraduate years + 1 graduate year (including the undergraduate years) · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Healthcare Administration

Combined Program: Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) & Master of Science in Healthcare Administration (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Lynchburg, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: OnlineAll coursework is online. Campus attendance is shown separately: "No required campus visits" appears only when the university states it.Campus visit requirements not published · Study intensity not published
Duration: Degree must be completed within 5 years (Maximum completion time, not a typical duration) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum (300 hours)
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Seton Hall University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.