Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Nevada, Las Vegas logo

University of Nevada, Las Vegas · Department of Healthcare Administration and Policy

Master of Healthcare Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

45-credit MHA using in-class, online and hybrid courses, with a required 250-hour internship and a choice of thesis, professional paper or capstone track; fall and spring admission.

Official program name
Master of Healthcare Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Specializations
Thesis Track · Professional Paper Track · Capstone Track
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
45 credit hours
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Healthcare Administration.

Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    Students must attend the student orientation in their first semester

    once

    Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    HCA 793 250-hour internship; students compete for placements after site visits with local healthcare partners

    Published hours:
    250 hours
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Waiver:
    Students with substantial healthcare management or academic experience may petition to waive the internship and take an additional elective.
    Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or greater strongly preferred
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredEconomics (ECON 102 or HCA 205) and accounting (ACC 201 or HCA 216); may be completed during the first year
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required1-2 page personal statement
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3-5 letters of recommendation, at least one from a current or most recent employer; minimum of 3
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalApplicants with GPAs below 3.0 may be considered with GRE scores above the 50th percentile, substantial work experience and strong recommendations.
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Apr. 1 · for Fall · 11:59 p.m. PST

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Dec. 1 · for Spring · 11:59 p.m. PST

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicantsInternational applicants

    October 1st · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate coursesFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$383.25per creditEstimated tuition$17,246.25 = 45 credits × $383.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Nonresident graduate student (7 or more credits): $10,094.50 + $383.25 per graduate credit plus feesFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$10,094.50(basis not stated by the institution)Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $17,246.25 (45 credits × $383.25 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate courses, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance Education Course Fee
$34 per credit
Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Healthcare AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. unlv.edu/admissions/graduate/application-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. unlv.edu/cashiering/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. unlv.edu/degree/mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. unlv.edu/provost/vpaa/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. unlv.edu/sites/default/files/degrees/downloads/MHA-FAQs.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. unlv.edu/sites/default/files/media/document/2026-07/MHA-Program-Handbook.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Nevada first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.