Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Miami logo

University of Miami · University of Miami Business School and School of Law

J.D./M.H.A. in Health Administration and the Law

Awarded degree: Juris Doctor and Master of Health Administration

Master'sJD/MHAJoint degree

Overview

A joint program with the School of Law requiring 114 credits for both degrees (88 for the J.D., 40 for the M.H.A., with double counting). Students apply separately to both programs and typically start the M.H.A. in their second year of law school.

Official program name
J.D./M.H.A. in Health Administration and the Law
Awarded degree
Juris Doctor and Master of Health Administration
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Joint or dual degreeAn official combined program in which one of the awarded degrees is a healthcare administration degree, such as an MHA/MBA. Each award is shown as published.
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Coral Gables, FL
Required credits
114 credits for both degrees
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
3-Year Program with 2 Summers (sample plan of study) (sample plan; actual sequence may vary)
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Joint J.D./M.H.A. program with its own bulletin entry; one award is the Master of Health Administration.

Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: mbs.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.

Residency, internship or practicum requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Other requirement
RequiredSeparate applications to both the J.D. and M.H.A. programs
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Not requiredLSAT score used instead of GRE or GMAT.
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GRE General Test
Not requiredLSAT score used instead of GRE or GMAT.
Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    between mid-August and April 1st for a fall start · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.miami.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

CAHME accreditation not verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.miami.edu/graduate-academic-programs/business/specialized-master-degrees/jd-health-administ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. mbs.miami.edu/graduate/find-and-compare-programs/health-administration/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Health Administration

Full-Time Residential MHA

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Gainesville, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 21 months including internship · 50 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (400 hours)
View Program

University of Central Florida

Master of Health Administration

Health Administration (MHA) - Residential Track

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Orlando, FL
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 57 credits
Tuition: $369.65 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $72,759.36 (57 credits × $1,276.48 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (240 hours)
View Program
University of North Florida logo

University of North Florida

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 45 credits
Tuition: $493.53 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Total Tuition and Fees for 1 Credit Hour (Florida Resident) · Fall 2026 - Summer 2Est. total tuition $50,709.60 (45 credits × $1,126.88 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: practicum
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Miami. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.